Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 167
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 147
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Math review and math and verbal strategies on the test. Magoosh's score guarantee improved my incentive to study, though it turned out I didn't need it. Now my scores are in the range needed for the grad programs I want to apply for.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Math and essay section video contained great tips and strategies. Practice questions help me gain speed and confidence. I also liked the math and verbal flash card apps
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
good questions and explanations
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
It has a great many of questions with different levels and each question is followed by a very clear explanation. I can review those incorrect and flag questions easily. The video lessons are also very helpful.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I originally planned to study for the GRE using only the ETS test guide, but I quickly realized that I needed more instructional support. Magoosh's video lessons were the perfect answer. They were informative, provided great examples, and walked through all of the information on the test step by step. Also, the on-demand video style allowed me to work around my full time job, which was extremely helpful. Furthermore, the bank of questions was an invaluable tool and the video answers provided after each question helped me determine what I did wrong and taught me the most efficient way to solve problems.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
I think the most valuable part of Magoosh is the practice questions. they are very typical and effective to elevate our students' ability and logical thinking fluence.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 25, 2015

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
N

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gave me a lot of practice problems to do so I could get used to the problem format. I really liked how explanation videos were available for every problem. I was able to learn what to focus on and which subjects the GRE emphasized. Also, the lessons were very detailed and helpful, but the topics were explained in a matter that was easy to understand.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 338
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos helped me brush up on the math, and then taking the practice problems really helped. It felt like the actual test was usually harder than the practice, which worked well for me. It was also nice to receive emails (even if automated?) at different milestones.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Hundreds of math practice problems with video explanations were incredibly helpful. Magoosh got me a perfect quantitative score!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gives a very structured set of video lessons that held my hands right from introduction to the test all the way to effective tips and strategies for every type of question that I was going to face. To be frank, once you prepare with Magoosh practice questions, the real test should be a breeze. The intensely personal help responses and mails the Magoosh team sent me kept me calm and motivated.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 151
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me in Quants. I got 170. Although my verbal score kind of reduced :(
Double checks 120x120

Oct 24, 2015

Score Improvement: +2 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions are great and the most helpful things.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me with strategies and understanding the test!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 23, 2015

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
I exclusively used the math videos this time around, as it was very important for my program that my quant score was above the 60th percentile. Both the video lessons and the test question with video explanations helped immensely. I went in to the test more confident than last time, and I scored better as well! I've always struggled with geometry and algebra, but I was able to get up to par with the help of your videos.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
The best way to practice for a standardized test is to take it over and over! I think Magoosh allows students to pick up on the feel of the GRE by offering a boat load of questions that are very similar to the ones on the actual test. This is especially true for the verbal section. Perhaps I would have gotten a decent score without studying, but by drilling question after question I was able to understand the nuances of the test and criteria, which to be honest sometimes are a bit subjective. Thanks to this practice and Magoosh's explanations, I was able to get a perfect score.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped keep me on track, at a much lower price point than other test prep systems. I followed the one-month plan, and was happy to do small pieces of prep each day. While I couldn't keep up the pace with a full-time job (as the guide warned me), I still believe Magoosh helped me a lot. I learned general strategies (number sense, not looking at the verbal answers without my own answer), a sense for timing, and most importantly, I always had a plan to follow so I couldn't second-guess myself.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 23, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped me practice!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
I didn't have time to watch all of the videos, but there were certain ones I found very helpful. From the first few verbal videos I learned the most important points; look for specific clues and make the choice that is most directly related. Also, don't be afraid of unknown words. I learned the basic and common words in the Magoosh flashcards, but didn't make it through the advanced words.

The videos on the writing session were great. I used the exact timing and brainstorming strategies given.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me improving verbal a lot. RCs were the life savers.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Made GRE prep more interactive and easier

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me strengthen my english and helped me prepare well for the verbal part of the GRE. Being from an engineering background, I required little effort for practicing math portion for the test but magoosh provided me with good resource so as to brush up my math concepts. The videos by Chris for the AWA are fantastic and they helped me score a wonderful 4.5 , which I would've been a hard task to achieve without magoosh. The verbal videos helped a lot understanding and preparing for the verbal portion. The videos were to the point and provided short tricks to solve the question easily.

Overall, the magoosh experience was wonderful and was worth every penny.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
hard section is really good
Double checks 120x120

Oct 22, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 800
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 740
How did Magoosh help you?
A lot of practice material that was well representative of the material that appears on the exam plus great instruction videos.