Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons available on Magoosh were extremely clear and helpful. I was quite comfortable with the Math section but I dreaded the Verbal section as I was convinced that as a foreigner I didn't have the sufficient vocabulary to tackle the verbal questions properly. Yet, with the brilliant insight of Chris Lele and the Vocabulary flashcards, to my amazement I managed to get a score in the verbal section much beyond my expectations.
I only used Magoosh to prepare for the GRE and it was more than enough. The questions available on the website were more difficult than the actual test and the flashcards covered almost every difficult words I encountered on the test.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh definitely helped me a lot. The study plan was especially helpful. In combination with the large amount of resources - questions, flash cards, customer support that answered whatever questions I had - the plan was able to help me sufficiently prepare for the real GRE. And the fact that Magoosh is an online software means that I can do test prep wherever I am, whenever I can.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions, either math or verbal, and the practice tests are both super helpful. Questions on Magoosh is more somewhat difficult than those on real GRE, which actually makes me kind of relaxing when I took the real GRE: I did not rush in reading comprehension so I think understand the reading materials quite good.
Moreover, that I can practice only math questions that I flagged or did it wrong is excellent, which reminds me what kind of stupid mistakes I would be likely to make.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
churning through problems
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
Ultimately, it came down to the wonderful content provided. Although I enjoyed the videos, I personally prefer written notes (particularly for the math section), so as I watched all the videos, I made my own notes which I then used for most of my study. The content itself was great, from teaching the basics/fundamental concepts all the way to the more advanced GRE-like topics. Also, having used other GRE prep material as well, Magoosh by far covered the greatest variety of math questions, even covering some that they themselves stated were unlikely to show on the GRE, which helped me feel even more prepared. For the math section, I particularly liked the various tricks and nuances that were demonstrated as part of the answering of questions, which I felt helped me develop a more "outside of the box" type thinking when approaching such questions. I also appreciated the fact that the math sections were taught always in a GRE context, and it didn't feel as some generic math lesson. As for the verbal, I primarily used the vocab flashcards/building vocab app, which helped me expand my vocab. As I said, it came down to the content (vast topics covered, all with good quality lesson videos) that Magoosh provided that helped me achieve my scores.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me dissect each verbal question and know what exactly was going on and look for the subtleties and shifts in a sentence. In RC's, it helped me understand how to look at what the RC was trying to say in its entirety rather than just look at the details. I'm more than happy with my verbal scores, and magoosh helped me achieve it.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 167
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Math is quite similar to the ETS, and logic sentence is good

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Very very helpful! I'm not a native speaker and only have two months preparing for GRE. Without Magoosh I can't even image I can get a verbal score higher than 145. Your video lessons, explanations for every single test and flashcards are totally great. Thank you so much. I have already recommended all my friends preparing GRE test to try to use Magoosh.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
I needed a lot of math practice. Although I did not end up scoring as highly on the exam as I did on practice tests, I think that all the practice problems and explanations helped me keep calm during the actual exam.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Improved my verbal scores significantly!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Learn
Double checks 120x120

Oct 17, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was pretty much my best source of practice and reference
Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's best feature is that it offers over 500 practice questions for both math and verbal—all with video explanations that explain the logic of each question. These are absolutely invaluable in preparing for the GRE: After just three weeks of studying with Magoosh my score improved 16 points! Magoosh offers a helpful structure for keeping your GRE preparation on track in an easy online platform that gives you a projected score and makes improving feel almost like a game you're playing against yourself.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
The math questions, in particular, seemed much more difficult than the ones I actually faced on the test. Whether that was an artifact of the types of questions I happened to receive, I was grateful for the extra challenge in practice (as discouraging as it felt at times). Thanks!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Accessible review
Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
made me familiar with test question styles and test-taking strategies
Double checks 120x120

Oct 16, 2015

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I am working full time at a software firm, that eats a lot of my daily time. Without Magoosh, my trial towards GRE would have been just a fool's errands. No doubt, Magoosh is now the most trusted partner for anyone with higher studies plans. With its structured and methodical approach, dedicated instructors and wonderful materials, Magoosh was definitely a life-safer to my GRE prep. And, I thank everyone wholeheartedly at Magoosh for being there. Wish you all a wonderful journey ahead.

*my special thanks to Chris and Mike; you guys rock!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Extremely helpful in preparing for both the material on the test and the test itself. Provided insight and understanding to what would/would not be tested, how the test is scored, strategies for test-taking, etc.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
- All the math content was very clear, well-developed, pacing was just right, with really good practice questions.
- The hundreds of questions - the practice from these was invaluable!
- The Analyze an Argument videos were great with the fallacies outlined.
- Verbal strategies and the verbal videos were actually fun, Chris is a very engaging speaker.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me learn to anticipate what I would see on the test.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 15, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Super helpful with math practice

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Oct 14, 2015

Score Improvement: +1 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 167
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Getting me back up to speed on the basics, clearly outlining the fundamental concepts underlying the problems AND showing me intelligent approaches to problem solving.

Adaptive practice was very good to tailor my training.

The note function was great. (I wish I was a bit more saavy on the notes at the beginning; I failed to utilize them as effectively as possible.)

All in all, it was very good to get me back in the game and improve my score. I had to deal with some personal crises during my principal GRE study time that took away from my efforts, or I would have been able to certainly score even higher.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 14, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
It made practicing math a lot easier, more convenient, and organized.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 14, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 710
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 720
How did Magoosh help you?
Math questions--harder than the test and very well explained