Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Feb 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 307
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in several ways. The system taught me how to look at the questions, how to find the answer that was most correct, and reviewed my math skills. Magoosh is by far the best test prep for your money on the internet, and it is also fun to say. Magoosh!
Double checks 120x120

Feb 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1310
What was your math score? 710
What was your verbal score? 600
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped tremendously with the math section and mimicking the feel of the test.
Double checks 120x120

Feb 1, 2012

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 990
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 149
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 140
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 148
How did Magoosh help you?
reviews were great, however the strategies on utube from the cute guy on magoosh were better than the explanations on how to calculate on the math portion

that cute guy goes through how to do math problems buy guestimating in order to save time... i would have liked to see more of that on the site
Double checks 120x120

Jan 25, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 315
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 151
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
In short span of 28 days it was very difficult to prepare for the test but the streamlined guidance by you guyz helped me a lot.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 21, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 307
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
I knew that in order to feel prepared for the GRE, I wanted to take tests on a computer. By having hundreds of questions for me to go through, I was able to do just that. And, with the answers demonstrated in the tutorials, I was better able to learn from my mistakes.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 18, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 313
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
As someone who learns much better from videos than strictly from a book, I greatly enjoyed the teaching style of Magoosh. Beyond the vast number of practice problems, explanations, and tutorials, the blog offers an always update source for new material and situations and I greatly believe all the content in combination contributed to attaining better than my target score.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 14, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 318
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
I know that I made the best decision in choosing your product since I only had 2 weeks to prepare. The format of your practice questions exactly matched the questions on the exam, which left me feeling very confident when I typically would have felt nervous. I had limited funds and extremely limited time to prepare, but only using your product left me feeling like I had a private tutor sharing with me every strategy I needed to know.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Jan 13, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 315
What was your math score? 153
What was your verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
It made me feel more comfortable with the test.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 318 - 4.5 essay
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
I was able to do the questions and watch the videos during my lunch at my job. The best part was the practice questions, as I could as many or as few at at a time if I wanted. If I only had ten free minutes, I'd just do 4-5 questions, but if I had hours free, I could do an entire test. I really liked the flexibility of the program. The videos were very helpful on the math section because it was a long time since I had learned those concepts.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 4, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
The product helped me to understand the format and nature of the questions, The lessons were an excellent refresher. I also liked the focus on how to answer GRE questions.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 307
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were very helpful, and the pactice tests helped me with getting my timing right
Double checks 120x120

Dec 28, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 149
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me understand and predict the style of problems that I would find on the GRE. The verbal portion of the review really helped me analyze the sentences and readings.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 297
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me to stay motivated to study because of it's interactive nature. I found the verbal reasoning videos especially helpful; they also gave me more confidence when goin into the test.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 300
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 146
How did Magoosh help you?
The product was helpful to a great extent.It was user friendly and attractive.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 425
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I felt that the verbal section would be my weak point, so I did a lot of verbal work on Magoosh along with a few other online GRE practice websites and an iPhone flash card app. Out of all of the practice materials for the test, Magoosh verbal was the closest to the actual test and prepared me for the tricky questions. Also, I would highly recommend the flash card iPhone/web app that I used, which is offered by brain-scape.com. The words were relevant to the exam and I was able to learn approximately 1,200 words in about two months without pushing myself too hard.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 16, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a tremendous help. The first time I took the new GRE I had not used Magoosh to prepare. The resources I did use (McGraw Hill and Princeton Review books) led me to believe that the quant problems would be much easier than they actually were on test day, and as a result I was not adequately prepared. I used Magoosh to prepare for my 2nd attempt at the new GRE, and I found the problems to be a better representation of the actual quant section (I did not use the verbal section of the site). Also of significance, Magoosh's mock test option allowed me to determine where I needed to be at what time, something I didn't know the first time I had taken the test. Knowing how to properly budget my time was probably the single most important factor in improving my score, and Magoosh's mock test option is the best way to learn how to budget. My score on quant went from 152 to 165.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 8, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 311
What was your math score? 155
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Plenty of practice problems and video explanations.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 8, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 303
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
It made everything so easy to understand. It was a pleasure to study
Double checks 120x120

Dec 6, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 304
What was your math score? 151
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
It reviewed EVERYTHING really clearily. I really appreciated how the narrator would show why to use a certain formula. It just simplified everything.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 2, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
Mostly verbal - the level of complexity of the actual exam did correspond with the practice examples. Math was useful too, however the quant section of the actual exam was not so complicated, and many of the actual math problems were different.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 23, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 288
What was your math score? 149
What was your verbal score? 139
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were great! As I was taking the test, I was surprised to see how closely related they were.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 18, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323 (new scoring system)
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Lessons, practice questions, and blog really helped me improve my score. They helped me improve my basic skills and speed. I also used a lot of the strategies I found in the lessons and on the Magoosh blog for each of the sections and overall test. Magoosh is the best GRE prep product/material I have used in every sense. I also like how the staff is down-to-earth and quick to reply.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 17, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 294
What was your math score? 144
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
Lots of practice and lots of individual lessons
Double checks 120x120

Nov 15, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? Not received yet
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions were similar in nature to those in GRE. Helped me to know what to expect
Double checks 120x120

Nov 13, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
I did not get to use the product as extensively as I would have liked; however, I found the service quite good. The review for the math was of particular help - rules and properties long-forgotten were brought back to life in an efficient manner. I am inclined to say that I felt the actual test to be somewhat less difficult than the practice questions, but I suppose that also is good, as it prepares you for the worst.