Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Thumbnails

Feb 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
The large number of questions helped me get a feel of the exam and gain confidence. Score estimate shown was very accurate. The video lessons helped by revealing strategies that have an immediate positive benefit.
Thumbnails

Jan 20, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions of varying difficult level along with the answer explanation was really helpful. Also helpful was the entire website structure, compared to the other lesson provider sites I have visited.
Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Having only a month to prepare for the GRE I dont know how it would have been possible to be successful without using Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Jan 6, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Hi team.
Magoosh is definitely the best option for GRE prep. I dont say this lightly or without experiencing several different types of coaching. I had forgotten a couple of the important math concepts, so the math videos were a great refresher.
Since the videos are short and easy to understand, I could go through concepts really quickly and effectively. The verbal vocab app is simply the easiest way to learn a lot of vocab, that does appear on the test, quickly. Further, the explanation videos are always crystal clear and make the concepts really stick.
Lastly, I thought the team did a great job answering my doubts promptly and comprehensively. I didnt really need private tutoring since the team did such a good job clearing my doubts.
I didn't study for very long ( a month at max, really), but Magoosh let me maximize the time I spent during that month studying.
Thumbnails

Jan 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand the key points for performing the best. Even being a senior student in the math department, I had learned several solving techniques, so I have saved a lot of time during the test. Thanks to the huge pool of tasks I trained a lot and the results overwhelmed me in positive way, especially verbal score.
Thumbnails

Dec 29, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's comprehensive coverage of the topics in the video format, supplemented by their reading material, was very helpful. The portability and cost were unbeatable, as well. I also appreciate that they helped direct me to outside sources for extra practice. Plus, they were very fast and thorough in answering my questions, even during the holidays!
Thumbnails

Dec 28, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me by offering a proper set of tools to organize my time studying. I loved the amount of questions and the detailed explanations given in every single one. Thanks also to the way the platform is designed it allows students to customize practice sessions or to watch video lessons according to their needs.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is really great! My first score on the GRE wasn't bad (320), but I was looking for more. Then I choose Magoosh to prepare for this second test. I had only 21 days to prepare, and I the video lessons and video explanations for questions were integral to my success: I was able to improve my overall score by 8 points! During my short preparation for the second test, I solved more than 800 questions and took Magoosh test practices. It was really helpful, and I certainly recommend Magoosh for people who need high GRE scores.
Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? MA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Kudos to Magoosh team for providing quality service at an affordable rate. You get value for your money and I am 100% happy with the results. The video lessons are awesome. Great organization of the topics and super presentation. The 'tips' and 'tricks' are time savers. Believe me guys - those really help. The practice questions are of almost simliar difficulty to what you are likely to encounter in actual test.

Love the way Chris takes us through the verbal section. I am not a native English speaker, and I found his way of teaching really helpful to quickly get familiarized with the verbal concepts. Mike also has done a great job - I always felt that is how Math should be taught. He was always focusing on getting your basics right rather than making you byheart a bunch of formulas for the test. 5 STARS.

'Magooshing' really helps !!

Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I haven't taken a math class in 10 years so I desperately needed a refresher on geometry, algebra, counting techniques, and probability. The Magoosh video lessons helped me remember the high school math I'd forgotten and taught me what tricks to look out for on the test. In my experience, learning how to take the test was just as important as learning test content. The large selection of practice questions on Magoosh gave me something new to learn every day, and the video explanations for each question ensured that I understood my mistakes when I got a question wrong.
Thumbnails

Dec 2, 2017

Score Improvement: +34 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 147, 152, 155, 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 144, 149, 149, 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in many ways! For example, I was able to re-familiarize myself with many of the math concepts I had forgotten. Similarly, I feel Magoosh helped me hyper-prepare for the types of quantitative questions on the actual test. That is, I felt prepared for just about any question thrown my way. I also found the small tips and tricks very helpful for time-management purposes.
Regarding the verbal help, I would say knowing and practicing the words in the Magoosh vocabulary app is a must. Early on in my studying, I would practice words almost every day. Many of the words in the app were also on the actual exam.
In regards to analytical writing, I think Chris did a fantastic job of outlining both sections. I liked how he used an actual prompt and provided examples of fallacies - very helpful come test day.
Finally, I REALLY appreciate all the help from the Magoosh tutors! Thank you all. They did a great job of answering just about all of my questions in an easy to understand way. Moreover, they could not be more friendly! I applaud you all. The return on investment is huge. I honestly cannot believe how much you guys are willing to help given the low cost of a premium membership. Applause all around, guys! Thank you.
Thumbnails

Nov 24, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
It was amazing! I wish I had more time to study for verbal. I had several problem areas in math which absolutely disappeared with the help of Magoosh! Those include consecutive numbers and combinatorics. As for verbal, I'm sure I would score much less without having used Magoosh as I am not a native speaker.
Thumbnails

Nov 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh vocabulary builder app, video lessons, and practice questions played a very important role for me during my GRE preparation. The difficulty and variety of questions given are on par with the actual GRE exam. The explanation videos and solving techniques provided helped me to correct my mistakes and improve my overall score.
My favourite feature in the Magoosh product was the ability to solve questions on specific topics and of varied difficulty tailored to my needs.
Magoosh turned the usually arduous process of training for GRE into a breeze for me and helped me achieve a good score!
Thumbnails

Nov 22, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 169
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
The math videos were very helpful and the email feedback for specific questions was helpful and timely. The AWA writing videos really helped me to break down the time management strategy I needed to improve my essay. I scored in the 18th percentile the first time and feel confident I scored significantly better this time because I was more prepared.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 21, 2017

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons and shortcuts for the math especially!
Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +17 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 146
How did Magoosh help you?
I answered GRE previous year with a lot of preparation, but only scored 305. This year, I choose Magoosh Premium set of questions for my GRE practice and surprisingly, I improved my Quant score by 8 points and verbal score by 9 points.
Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh questions, videos are really helpful.Magoosh verbal is above par. Magoosh Quant is also on par with GRE. But the significant feature of Magoosh is its help when you asks some question. A characteristic of a good teacher is how efficiently it can explain things to his student. At people at Magoosh certainly qualifies as good teachers which give great in-depth explanations to out questions. And Magoosh can easily fit in your budget. Thus, I'll recommend Magoosh for GRE prep.
Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322!!
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? na
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? na
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has been absolutely pivotal in my study for the GRE. I loved the ease of use and especially the apps. The ability to do test problems on the go or watch videos on demand was really helpful, and the question explanations improved my score tremendously. I was also pleasantly surprised when I received feedback for comments on a few of the practice questions!
Thumbnails

Nov 17, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions provided were right on the mark. They gave the simulation of actual GRE exam. The problem solving approach discussed by Chris lele are extremely effective. And the vocab flash card app is a perfect way to increase the efficacy of recollecting words on the test day.

Also I would like to appreciate the simple user interface. Its brilliant. So easy and clutter free. Its soothing to see the green, black interface and really reduces the stress level. Also the option to increase the speed of videos is a great way to go over the topics one already know.

Great job guys. Kudos
Thumbnails

Nov 16, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh made the world of difference. The thought of having to relearn basic math after a having taken several years off from school was nothing short of awful. Magoosh made the process fun, game-ifying the experience and challenging me to meet my goals. Magoosh covered not only the content of the test, but also the structures and tricks of the test itself. I knew that I had the capacity to score well, but sticking to a Magoosh study plan is what actually made that happen. I am so happy to say good riddance to all of my study materials and close the door on the GRE forever, but I will always remain thankful to Magoosh and the fabulous team that helped me succeed!
Thumbnails

Nov 14, 2017

Score Improvement: +15 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
As a working professional with very little time to prep for the exam, Magoosh was the perfect platform. The videos were short and crisp, the practice question setup very effective and motivating and the pre-made plans took all the thought out of scheduling my prep. After watching all the videos and attempting all the practice questions once, I was able to re-do all my incorrect questions till i got them right. I think this is what helped me jump my score in Quant.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 12, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Your lessons were organized and well-explained. What I didn't understand from the videos, I was able to pick up from the written explanations below.
Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? Never took before
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? Never took before
How did Magoosh help you?
I used the Magoosh 1 month study plan and the Manhattan 5 lbs book of questions to supplement my studies. Magoosh was excellent! The practice problems they provide are very helpful; they emulate the real GRE questions and the get you practicing for the exam from day one. The video lessons are also contain useful information. Though some of the videos were on topics that I was already familiar with, they still contained information about the test that I wouldnt have known otherwise. For example, a lesson might tell you how certain concepts will be tested on the exam, which is useful to know even if youre familiar with the concept. All in all, Magoosh is excellent so thanks again to the Magoosh team!
Thumbnails

Nov 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
it provides in depth knowledge and tactics for the study required