Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Thumbnails

Jul 25, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to get a deeper understanding of different topics (particularly the Math section).

The tips and tricks I learned through Magoosh helped a lot to get a better grip of the verbal section.
Thumbnails

Jul 24, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
It was the only source of study material I used apart from the official ETS guides. When I began studying for the GRE, I had very little time (50 days) and no structured way of going about it. Magoosh's 30 day prep schedule (daily) worked really well for me. It gave me a structured and disciplined approach and helped me use my time efficiently. Also, whenever I had queries, they were answered by the Magoosh staff within a day. That is something I really appreciate and it helped me a lot. :)
Thumbnails

Jul 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Clearly and simply explained the nuances of math and verbal sections of the GRE so much so that by studying for 3 weeks I was able to achieve a great result.
Thumbnails

Jul 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Reminded me of math topics I hadn't seen in a while and showed how to approach a lot of problems.
Thumbnails

Jul 15, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was GREAT, to say the least!!! The reading comprehension and text completion questions prepared me for the hardest questions that could come on test day. The Quant practice questions also gave me a feel of how hard the questions can get,and served to remove my misconception that all quant questions are going to be easy.Had I not tried the Magoosh practice questions in the quant section, I would have had a really nasty surprise!!

If anyone out there is looking for a GRE prep product at affordable prices I'd recommend Magoosh wholeheartedly.Moreover the video lessons were not at all boring and gave me a lot of techniques that I could use to solve quant questions in 1- 2 minutes which I would take 5-6 minutes to solve, otherwise.Thank you to the Magoosh team!!
I did regret a bit that I was able to use the Magoosh product only for 15 days(as I subscribed only 15 days prior to the test).
Thumbnails

Jul 11, 2017

Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 167
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh lessons and practice questions were very good and all I used to improve my score by 3 points. I am happy with that improvement, especially since I had bad sleep the night before and I already had a high score so there was little room for improvement.
Thumbnails

Jul 9, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped prepare me for the GRE by teaching me how to approach questions. As I worked through the practice questions and lessons provided by Magoosh, my understanding of how the test was set up, how the questions were worded, and what the questions were aiming at vastly improved.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jul 6, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is unique from other courses due to their emphasis on self-learning and focus on core concepts, rather than learning superfluous tricks. More than the lectures themselves, the practice questions and their explanation are useful. A big thank you to all the Magoosh staff, this score wouldn't be possible without you guys!
Thumbnails

Jul 6, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 336
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me strategically approach verbal reasoning questions without second-guessing my vocab choices. It also provided a great math refresher, and helped me organize my studying.
Thumbnails

Jul 4, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
- Vocab flashcards were EXTREMELY helpful; 90% of the vocab words that appeared in the verbal section had appeared in the Magoosh vocab flashcards
- Video tutorials on the essay section were also extremely helpful. I would have had no idea how to approach the essays if not for the video lessons
- Math practice problems were somewhat helpful, although the questions on my test did seem to differ dramatically from the majority of Magoosh practice problems
Thumbnails

Jul 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
I took the GRE on 27th July. Unofficial score - 320 (quant 164 verbal 156). Magoosh was a huge help for me when it comes to GRE preparation. The vocabulary flashcard application (both web and the Android one) was very easy to use. Coming to the course material, the instructors (Mike and Chris) were absolutely brilliant. They have the ability to make complicated concepts very easy and intuitive.
Being an engineering student, the Quant section did not pose as much of a threat as the verbal section. However, the way in which Chris delivered the lectures was focused more on understanding the context rather than mugging up obscure vocabulary. The paragraph argument and reading comprehension strategies were really good and helped me a lot to improve.
Now coming to the Quant section, not only has the material been useful for the GRE but I feel that the approaches and strategies (estimation, backsolving and others) made me better at maths overall.
The practice problems are top notch. The website is really easy to use and has lots of tools (estimated score prediction, pie chart reflecting the performance, the average time taken, detailed analysis of all the questions attempted ) that help us analyze our performance and also serve as motivation to perform better.
Now coming to the blog - I think it's absolutely wonderful that you offer this resource for free. The blog has a plethora of tips, tutorials, practice problems, and strategies.
I watched all lessons and completed around 80% of the practice questions. Apart from this, I solved quite a few reading comprehension and paragraph argument questions from Manhattan prep guide books. Also, I practiced a bit of Quant from them. However, as I was short on time I did not go through the ETS material nor did I take any practice test (I did start a test once to get used to the user interface but did not complete it). I was nervous that my preparation had not been adequate but thanks to Magoosh my basics were covered and I ended up doing well.
Thumbnails

Jun 28, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
I would not have gotten those scores without magoosh. The lessons were incredibly valuable and easy to understand. But most important were the video explanations of how to answer math questions.
Thumbnails

Jun 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's online material has helped me a lot. The exhaustive question bank, the flashcards, the video lessons, have all been very informative. I could access it from anywhere and continue my preparation regardless of my location. What makes Magoosh stand out is it's all-round aid, starting from exam preparation up till college selection. Their blogs regarding the entire process have helped me gain insight and made my choices clearer. The faculty has been very supportive as well. Overall, Magoosh provides whatever it promises.
Cheers to Magoosh!
Thumbnails

Jun 24, 2017

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 149
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was instrumental in improving my Verbal Score. Beginning with the Vocabulary, Reading Comprehensions, Text Completions etc. The practice Questions were very helpful and were right at the level expected at the GRE.

This gave me the self confidence to tackle these questions as Verbal was a weak point in my original GRE Preparation. The frequent practice tests were also instrumental in judging my own performance. This had simulated an environment similar to the actual GRE.

Thanks Magoosh Team!!!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jun 24, 2017

Score Improvement: +20 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 150
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos taught me so much about methods and how to think about the problems in a different way. My favorite part was that I was able to e-mail them questions and get responses within a few hours when I didn't understand a part of a video, or why I got a practice question wrong.
Thumbnails

Jun 21, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I could not have done this without Magoosh! I took a couple of diagnostic tests back in December and scored in the 305-310 range. Magoosh's Vocab Building App, the flash cards app, and of course the lessons really helped me take it to the next level. I had not done any mathematics since high school over three years ago but the Math lessons were very clear and I was able to pick up 95% of the material from the first watch.

The Flash cards are JUST RIGHT! Every word in the vocabulary builder app was actually one I encountered in some question or test. This isn't the case with the flash cards and lists of some other providers which tend to have a lot of words that aren't actually common GRE words.

The AWA writing lessons are EXCEPTIONAL. Despite the majority of my coursework in college being centered around writing, the tactics and recommendations for approaching the questions and the test format were actually exceptionally helpful.

The Practice features and the ability to form practice tests and quiz sections with just the material I had studied that day was extremely useful. Being able to only focus on questions I had already answered incorrectly in the past also allowed me to focus on the parts of the test where I had the most room for improvement.

There was only time when I didn't quite get a question's explanation. I reached out to Magoosh over a weekend and even then, I got a clear response that was easy to understand in just a few hours.

Your product really is exceptional and affordable and I couldn't have jumped these 15-20 points up without it. Thank you so much!
Thumbnails

Jun 20, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 341.5
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
I took a practice test before starting studying and found that my quantitative skills really needed work. The practice problems especially helped me know what to expect and the video explanations for missed problems taught me how to tackle them on test day. Additionally, the AWA videos gave solid examples and strategies for the two essays. Overall, Magoosh is a solid product and I would recommend it strongly.
Thumbnails

Jun 17, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh learning lessons and tips helped me throughout the preparation phase. I mostly relied on Magoosh alone for the exam strategies and preparation. Initially I followed magoosh 90 day study plan, watched Vocabulary videos by Chris (from youtube) and completed all the video lessons and exam tips. These videos were my fillers during office breaks or during travel. Quality of Magoosh practice questions are exceptional and are above par with GRE questions in terms of difficulty. Once I practiced with Magoosh questions, I felt the actual GRE more easier and familiar.
Thumbnails

Jun 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
For me, the most valuable thing was the repetition and getting familiar with the question types. Knowing how the test will try to trick you, especially on the quant section, made me much more comfortable come test day.
Thumbnails

Jun 6, 2017

Score Improvement: +22 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 148
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
I was able to get a good handle on what I needed to learn early (then to be honest I supplemented with Kaplan books for the busy work/ general studying) and then I took a ton of practice tests before the test to build stamina. The video explanations were awesome in helping to understand tricky concepts
Thumbnails

Jun 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Because of Magoosh, I wasn't surprised by any of the questions on the GRE. Even when the trickiest question popped up, I remembered the advice of Mike and Chris and started working my way toward the answer.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

May 28, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped a lot by covering all the types of question one can face in the test. The key to get a good GRE score is to know the shortcuts to all the kinds of questions. Magoosh does a pretty good job of preparing the students for just that.
Thumbnails

May 15, 2017

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's lessons are of inestimable value, I was given excellent tips and tricks to brush up on math that I hadn't done in years. The questions in the quant section are really challenging and will help you overcome any predicament on the GRE test day.
Thumbnails

May 12, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 337
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 169
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
Other than the official website and sample materials, Magoosh was pretty much the only resource I used to prepare for the GRE. The detailed lessons and the countless problem sets were invaluable in getting me prepared and confident for the test.

Magoosh also was very understanding and extended my subscription so that it could cover me till my exam date.

I am very grateful to Magoosh for guiding me through the whole prep process!
Thumbnails

May 8, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
The main reason I opted for an online preparation plan was the fact that I could get my answers reviewed immediately- with video and text explanations; unlike the books where you don't get a feel of the actual test. Magoosh was especially helpful in helping me improving my speed, and the difficulty of all the questions was almost on par with that of the actual GRE!