Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Thumbnails

May 25, 2018

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 167
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 144
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me with the verbal section. The strategies provided by Magoosh were really helpful. I was less stressed during the exam thanks to the practice section of Magoosh.
Thumbnails

May 21, 2018

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to prepare for the GRE immensely. The lessons explain hard concepts in a concise and helpful manner. I only prepared for 2 months and was able to improve my score significantly using Magoosh. Thanks!
Thumbnails

May 10, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328 overall
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
The quant lessons were EXTREMELY helpful, especially for things like finding the number of prime factors, finding the units digit of some large number to some number, and counting questions. The vocab flashcards for common words were also very helpful for verbal. I also got quite a bit of help from the practice questions and my single one-hour math tutoring session. Practice test was also immensely helpful and pretty reflective of my accurate score.
Thumbnails

Apr 19, 2018

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems helped me learn which tricks to look out for on math problems. Flash cards helped vocabulary improve slightly.
Thumbnails

Apr 18, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me skim through the explanations. It helped me avoid silly mistakes in the quant section, and the tips on each question helped me analyse and improve myself. Verbal was my weak section, in the beginning I started off with a 145 score and improved till 157 through videos and practice. Flash cards too were super helpful !!! Thanks a lot Magoosh!!
Thumbnails

Apr 5, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me by walking me through the math section starting with the basics and building on those skills.By comparing my projected verbal and math scores, I felt confident in my verbal skills, freeing me up to focus on the quant section. Also, by providing me with very challenging math questions, I could push myself further and feel like the real quant was easy by comparison.
Thumbnails

Mar 30, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was awesome! For the verbal section, it really helped to figure out the process to answer questions efficiently. The guided explanations on the math section helped me learn where my shortcomings were and helped me improve.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Mar 24, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? Na
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? Na
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gave me every tool necessary to be successful on the GRE! The study schedules were awesome even laying out Day by Day (which is what I needed) telling me what to do!
Thumbnails

Mar 8, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I felt confident and prepared going into my first GRE - I knew what I was facing and was ready to do my best.
Helped with: Being prepared for the test format and types of questions; vocab practice; integer properties; quick math tips;
Thumbnails

Feb 26, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327 and 6.0 out of 6.0 on the writing section
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh streamlined the process for me by giving me exactly what I needed to study/learn in a short time frame. I had only a month AND I was working full time, so the program was helpful by giving me a day by day breakdown of everything I should do.
Thumbnails

Feb 25, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems with varying difficulty and custom tests helped a lot. Vocabulary flashcards were extremely helpful.
The question banks were more than sufficient for me (didn't refer anything else except a bit of Reading comprehension questions from the 5lb manhattan book). In the last week, I only solved the very hard/hard questions of both sections which covered most concepts.

Thumbnails

Feb 22, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
I absolutely loved studying with Magoosh. The videos are amazing, they made everything simple for me. I was very weak in verbal in the beginning but Magoosh taught me how to answer each question type analytically. The teachers are really great! I am very thankful to Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Feb 18, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
The online portal was one thing that turned the tide in my favor. I would advise anyone out there to utilize the portal to the maximum possible extent, be it the practice questions or the practice tests or even the GRE vocabulary builder. The vocabulary book that was provided, was another important factor in maximizing my score. Needless to say, the faculty were extremely supportive and were instrumental in planning out my preparation. I would go to the extent of saying that I was the weakest factor in this whole process. The institute was so beneficial to me. Taking numerous practice tests some days before the actual exam proved to be a masterstroke. Each individual has his or her own strong and weak points. Magoosh played an important role in enhancing my strengths and converting my weaknesses into my positives.
Thumbnails

Feb 6, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
The detailed analysis of questions in the verbal section helped me identify my strengths and weaknesses; the video lessons and prompt mail replies helped me work on my weaknesses. This helped in identifying and practicing question types that were difficult for me. Both part and full time practice tests helped to assess my performance in real test conditions.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Feb 5, 2018

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh gave me the final push to getting that quantitative score that I really felt I could achieve with a little more practice. The material was excellent and the lectures were refreshing; it helped me pick up on tricks that I never thought about despite having been studying math all my life. They respond promptly, answering your questions succinctly. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a great resource to prepare for the GRE.
Thumbnails

Feb 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
The large number of questions helped me get a feel of the exam and gain confidence. Score estimate shown was very accurate. The video lessons helped by revealing strategies that have an immediate positive benefit.
Thumbnails

Jan 20, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions of varying difficult level along with the answer explanation was really helpful. Also helpful was the entire website structure, compared to the other lesson provider sites I have visited.
Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Having only a month to prepare for the GRE I dont know how it would have been possible to be successful without using Magoosh.
Thumbnails

Jan 6, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Hi team.
Magoosh is definitely the best option for GRE prep. I dont say this lightly or without experiencing several different types of coaching. I had forgotten a couple of the important math concepts, so the math videos were a great refresher.
Since the videos are short and easy to understand, I could go through concepts really quickly and effectively. The verbal vocab app is simply the easiest way to learn a lot of vocab, that does appear on the test, quickly. Further, the explanation videos are always crystal clear and make the concepts really stick.
Lastly, I thought the team did a great job answering my doubts promptly and comprehensively. I didnt really need private tutoring since the team did such a good job clearing my doubts.
I didn't study for very long ( a month at max, really), but Magoosh let me maximize the time I spent during that month studying.
Thumbnails

Jan 1, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand the key points for performing the best. Even being a senior student in the math department, I had learned several solving techniques, so I have saved a lot of time during the test. Thanks to the huge pool of tasks I trained a lot and the results overwhelmed me in positive way, especially verbal score.
Thumbnails

Dec 29, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's comprehensive coverage of the topics in the video format, supplemented by their reading material, was very helpful. The portability and cost were unbeatable, as well. I also appreciate that they helped direct me to outside sources for extra practice. Plus, they were very fast and thorough in answering my questions, even during the holidays!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 28, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me by offering a proper set of tools to organize my time studying. I loved the amount of questions and the detailed explanations given in every single one. Thanks also to the way the platform is designed it allows students to customize practice sessions or to watch video lessons according to their needs.
Thumbnails

Dec 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is really great! My first score on the GRE wasn't bad (320), but I was looking for more. Then I choose Magoosh to prepare for this second test. I had only 21 days to prepare, and I the video lessons and video explanations for questions were integral to my success: I was able to improve my overall score by 8 points! During my short preparation for the second test, I solved more than 800 questions and took Magoosh test practices. It was really helpful, and I certainly recommend Magoosh for people who need high GRE scores.
Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? MA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Kudos to Magoosh team for providing quality service at an affordable rate. You get value for your money and I am 100% happy with the results. The video lessons are awesome. Great organization of the topics and super presentation. The 'tips' and 'tricks' are time savers. Believe me guys - those really help. The practice questions are of almost simliar difficulty to what you are likely to encounter in actual test.

Love the way Chris takes us through the verbal section. I am not a native English speaker, and I found his way of teaching really helpful to quickly get familiarized with the verbal concepts. Mike also has done a great job - I always felt that is how Math should be taught. He was always focusing on getting your basics right rather than making you byheart a bunch of formulas for the test. 5 STARS.

'Magooshing' really helps !!

Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I haven't taken a math class in 10 years so I desperately needed a refresher on geometry, algebra, counting techniques, and probability. The Magoosh video lessons helped me remember the high school math I'd forgotten and taught me what tricks to look out for on the test. In my experience, learning how to take the test was just as important as learning test content. The large selection of practice questions on Magoosh gave me something new to learn every day, and the video explanations for each question ensured that I understood my mistakes when I got a question wrong.