Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
I was familiar with every single type of question that would be on the test. It had very easy to follow explanation videos for every problem and had a large amount of study material.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Videos and the exercises are really helpful!!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I am applying to engineering schools so really only used the math section. Incredibly helpful. I was using Manhattan and that was good, but your interactive format changed everything for me. I was getting 160 on math, but increased to 164 through your website. That is why your program was so helpful, I did all the "hard" and "very hard" questions and didn't waste my time with the easy ones. No other program let me filter through the easy ones and only work on the difficult. Remarkably helpful.

I didn't study verbal. Interestingly I had read an article on your website months ago (before I ever bought the program) that said to read The Economist and some other publications every day. I immediately bought the online version of The Economist and started reading a few articles a day on my lunch breaks. I had a dictionary open on the tab over and looked up any word I didn't know. Just by doing this my verbal went from 153 to 163. So while I didn't use your program, your three paragraph blog improved my verbal 10 points.

Thank you for everything. This score solidified my applications. Keep doing what you are doing, I have already told may people that the only affordable way to study for the GRE is with Magoosh combined with reading The Economist and perhaps Manhattan to supplement.


Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 148
How did Magoosh help you?
It made me get more familiar about what the real test like, and helped got deeper comprehension about a lot of words.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
-
Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
It was really convenient, affordable and flexible.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Not only were the questions helpful and highly indicative of the material on the test, the customer service team was amazing. Everytime I emailed them for more in-depth clarification on why a given answer was correct, they were happy to help and expedient in their reply. Thanks Magoosh!!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2015

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
The only tools I used to study for the GRE were provided by Magoosh. I heavily utilized the verbal and math flashcards on my phone, and I think I watched every math video lesson available. In fact, I attribute my 7 point increase in my quant score solely to resources offered by Magoosh. After receiving my initial quant score of 154 (not nearly high enough for Neuroscience grad programs!), I really cracked down and answered practice question after practice question. Magoosh videos are incredibly helpful, especially with the type of inside knowledge they provide regarding tips and tricks for the test itself. Can't thank you enough, Magoosh!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided me with a study plan to get started from as well as the more obvious practice questions. I found that the questions were very similar to those on the actual test which was an enormous boon.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

Score Improvement: +23 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 146
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 151
How did Magoosh help you?
By giving me thorough explanations!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Nice lesson videos and good practice problems!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
This is the first time for me to take GRE, Magoosh helped me on both verbal and math.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me brush up on my math skills. I watched all the math videos, and I think they really helped me learn what I needed to know for the exam.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
I think that the amount of questions and lessons available on Magoosh provided a rough study plan that was flexible, which was very helpful to me. Even though I knew I needed a study plan that was able to force me to concentrate, I also wanted to be able to adjust it as I went along, and Magoosh was perfect in meeting my requirements. In my opinion, the best thing was that every time I was stuck on a question or needed more explanations, I could reach out and get a reply very soon.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
As a prospective Engineering student, I was pretty confident with math, so I was a bit skeptical about needing help. However, the Magoosh math lessons and questions went right back to fundamentals, and helped me develop some really simple skills and strategies which I wouldn't have otherwise used. Furthermore, through practice, lessons and flashcards, I was really able to boost my confidence in the verbal section. So much so that I ended up with a better verbal score than math score! Moreover - all this content was tailored to GRE-style questions. There were no real surprises on test day. My only regret is not beginning my study sooner - but the free study plans Magoosh offer give great structure, which helps to avoid both procrastination and panic!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me identify specific mathematical topics to study
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2015

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
I especially liked the Text completion and SE questions from magoosh, the practice interface was wonderful!!! I am sincerely grateful to the model test provided, it was wonderful and mimic the test setting very well.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
I was overwhelmed with choices about how to get started preparing for the GRE. Everything felt expensive, similar, and ultimately more about selling me things than helping me succeed.

But, when I stumbled across Magoosh, it seemed special right off the bat. It seemed like the dark horse of the pack: honest, smart, and friendly. The videos were the right length and tone... Just two site visits into my free trial had started, and I was hooked!

The best surprise: the testimonials were true, Magoosh slipped right into my life style, and I felt like I had the tools I needed to get to my goal score! I downloaded the vocabulary and math flashcards onto my phone, printed a study plan to keep in my bag, and watched the videos from my room. I was able to steal time here and there during my day, and the Magoosh tutors were always in my corner. It was fabulous, and I couldn't have done it without Magoosh! I even think I'll miss logging on to watch my dashboard improve, watch a video for a solution that blows my mind, or listen to Mike tell me that memorizing something would be "the worst idea." When I walked away from the test center with my new GRE score (much higher than my goal score), I knew all the time and effort had been worth it.

Thank you, Magoosh! Thanks for making and keeping things simple, straight-forward, on point, and dignified (didn't need to feel like I was free advertising walking around DC)! I will be singing your praises to all. Thank you so much!!!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Knowing that I had paid money for a prep program made me feel more impetus to use it. I enjoyed the video format for understanding what I'd missed on questions.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
Learned how to take the test from a strategic perspective. The videos were fantastic!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
The flashcards were awesome. I just did the common words set and had so many of the words on my test.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1310
What was your math score? 148
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
LOVED THE VIDEOS - ESPECIALLY THE MATH ONES. I GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE 32 YRS AGO SO THE COMPREHENSIVE REVIEW WAS JUST WHAT I NEEDED. I APPRECIATED THE BIG PICTURE VIEW OFFERED BY MARK MCGUIRE.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 168
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
It certainly help me a lot in my verbal part, but I only practice a small amount of math questions so I could not tell its efficiency
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2015

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
I only used Magoosh to prepare for the GRE. The thorough video lessons and the wide array of practice problems helped me overcome my weaknesses in both the Quantitative and Verbal Sections.