Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? MA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Kudos to Magoosh team for providing quality service at an affordable rate. You get value for your money and I am 100% happy with the results. The video lessons are awesome. Great organization of the topics and super presentation. The 'tips' and 'tricks' are time savers. Believe me guys - those really help. The practice questions are of almost simliar difficulty to what you are likely to encounter in actual test.

Love the way Chris takes us through the verbal section. I am not a native English speaker, and I found his way of teaching really helpful to quickly get familiarized with the verbal concepts. Mike also has done a great job - I always felt that is how Math should be taught. He was always focusing on getting your basics right rather than making you byheart a bunch of formulas for the test. 5 STARS.

'Magooshing' really helps !!

Thumbnails

Dec 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I haven't taken a math class in 10 years so I desperately needed a refresher on geometry, algebra, counting techniques, and probability. The Magoosh video lessons helped me remember the high school math I'd forgotten and taught me what tricks to look out for on the test. In my experience, learning how to take the test was just as important as learning test content. The large selection of practice questions on Magoosh gave me something new to learn every day, and the video explanations for each question ensured that I understood my mistakes when I got a question wrong.
Thumbnails

Dec 1, 2017

Score Improvement: +34 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 147, 152, 155, 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 144, 149, 149, 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in many ways! For example, I was able to re-familiarize myself with many of the math concepts I had forgotten. Similarly, I feel Magoosh helped me hyper-prepare for the types of quantitative questions on the actual test. That is, I felt prepared for just about any question thrown my way. I also found the small tips and tricks very helpful for time-management purposes.
Regarding the verbal help, I would say knowing and practicing the words in the Magoosh vocabulary app is a must. Early on in my studying, I would practice words almost every day. Many of the words in the app were also on the actual exam.
In regards to analytical writing, I think Chris did a fantastic job of outlining both sections. I liked how he used an actual prompt and provided examples of fallacies - very helpful come test day.
Finally, I REALLY appreciate all the help from the Magoosh tutors! Thank you all. They did a great job of answering just about all of my questions in an easy to understand way. Moreover, they could not be more friendly! I applaud you all. The return on investment is huge. I honestly cannot believe how much you guys are willing to help given the low cost of a premium membership. Applause all around, guys! Thank you.
Thumbnails

Nov 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
It was amazing! I wish I had more time to study for verbal. I had several problem areas in math which absolutely disappeared with the help of Magoosh! Those include consecutive numbers and combinatorics. As for verbal, I'm sure I would score much less without having used Magoosh as I am not a native speaker.
Thumbnails

Nov 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh vocabulary builder app, video lessons, and practice questions played a very important role for me during my GRE preparation. The difficulty and variety of questions given are on par with the actual GRE exam. The explanation videos and solving techniques provided helped me to correct my mistakes and improve my overall score.
My favourite feature in the Magoosh product was the ability to solve questions on specific topics and of varied difficulty tailored to my needs.
Magoosh turned the usually arduous process of training for GRE into a breeze for me and helped me achieve a good score!
Thumbnails

Nov 22, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 169
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
The math videos were very helpful and the email feedback for specific questions was helpful and timely. The AWA writing videos really helped me to break down the time management strategy I needed to improve my essay. I scored in the 18th percentile the first time and feel confident I scored significantly better this time because I was more prepared.
Thumbnails

Nov 21, 2017

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
The lessons and shortcuts for the math especially!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +17 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 146
How did Magoosh help you?
I answered GRE previous year with a lot of preparation, but only scored 305. This year, I choose Magoosh Premium set of questions for my GRE practice and surprisingly, I improved my Quant score by 8 points and verbal score by 9 points.
Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 165
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh questions, videos are really helpful.Magoosh verbal is above par. Magoosh Quant is also on par with GRE. But the significant feature of Magoosh is its help when you asks some question. A characteristic of a good teacher is how efficiently it can explain things to his student. At people at Magoosh certainly qualifies as good teachers which give great in-depth explanations to out questions. And Magoosh can easily fit in your budget. Thus, I'll recommend Magoosh for GRE prep.
Thumbnails

Nov 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322!!
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? na
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? na
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has been absolutely pivotal in my study for the GRE. I loved the ease of use and especially the apps. The ability to do test problems on the go or watch videos on demand was really helpful, and the question explanations improved my score tremendously. I was also pleasantly surprised when I received feedback for comments on a few of the practice questions!
Thumbnails

Nov 16, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions provided were right on the mark. They gave the simulation of actual GRE exam. The problem solving approach discussed by Chris lele are extremely effective. And the vocab flash card app is a perfect way to increase the efficacy of recollecting words on the test day.

Also I would like to appreciate the simple user interface. Its brilliant. So easy and clutter free. Its soothing to see the green, black interface and really reduces the stress level. Also the option to increase the speed of videos is a great way to go over the topics one already know.

Great job guys. Kudos
Thumbnails

Nov 15, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh made the world of difference. The thought of having to relearn basic math after a having taken several years off from school was nothing short of awful. Magoosh made the process fun, game-ifying the experience and challenging me to meet my goals. Magoosh covered not only the content of the test, but also the structures and tricks of the test itself. I knew that I had the capacity to score well, but sticking to a Magoosh study plan is what actually made that happen. I am so happy to say good riddance to all of my study materials and close the door on the GRE forever, but I will always remain thankful to Magoosh and the fabulous team that helped me succeed!
Thumbnails

Nov 14, 2017

Score Improvement: +15 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
As a working professional with very little time to prep for the exam, Magoosh was the perfect platform. The videos were short and crisp, the practice question setup very effective and motivating and the pre-made plans took all the thought out of scheduling my prep. After watching all the videos and attempting all the practice questions once, I was able to re-do all my incorrect questions till i got them right. I think this is what helped me jump my score in Quant.
Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Your lessons were organized and well-explained. What I didn't understand from the videos, I was able to pick up from the written explanations below.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Nov 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? Never took before
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? Never took before
How did Magoosh help you?
I used the Magoosh 1 month study plan and the Manhattan 5 lbs book of questions to supplement my studies. Magoosh was excellent! The practice problems they provide are very helpful; they emulate the real GRE questions and the get you practicing for the exam from day one. The video lessons are also contain useful information. Though some of the videos were on topics that I was already familiar with, they still contained information about the test that I wouldnt have known otherwise. For example, a lesson might tell you how certain concepts will be tested on the exam, which is useful to know even if youre familiar with the concept. All in all, Magoosh is excellent so thanks again to the Magoosh team!
Thumbnails

Nov 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
it provides in depth knowledge and tactics for the study required
Thumbnails

Nov 5, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me a lot
Up to dated material with difficulty level matching GRE level
Quick response to queries
Thumbnails

Nov 1, 2017

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was amazing!! The quant portion of the GRE was incredibly daunting to me, and I was demoralized before I found Magoosh. The lessons were smart and incredibly helpful - I watched almost all of them, some of them multiple times! And I owe my success in the verbal portion to the Magoosh vocabulary flashcard app.
Thumbnails

Nov 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
My quant diagnostic score before enrolling into Magoosh was 147. I saw an improvement of 13 points in quant alone on my actual GRE with just one month of Magoosh classes.
Thumbnails

Oct 31, 2017

Score Improvement: +15 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 145
How did Magoosh help you?
It helps me know the logic of GRE test and it's useful!
Thumbnails

Oct 30, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanation for each verbal question was particularly helpful which made me realize that I have to scan through each and every word of the sentence to understand the context. Also, going through the practice questions enabled me to have a clear idea about the time management during the test.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Oct 26, 2017

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lectures are brilliant, and the question bank exhaustive. AWA lectures were extremely helpful too. I only wish I had learnt about Magoosh earlier.
Thumbnails

Oct 24, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
The vocab helped me a lot! Also, I think I'm okay with quanti stuff but I'm a slow solver, and it becomes quite the problem in GRE! Magoosh gave me techniques so that I can do it a little faster!
Thumbnails

Oct 24, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
I greatly benefited from the math video explanations (especially probability!) and little shortcuts tutorials as I never learned math with tricks. Magoosh helped speed up my problem solving by constantly timing myself against the other users and provide in depth or quick explanations when I needed them. I solved over half the verbal and half the math problems available and my only regret is that I did not start using the site sooner in my prep rather than wait until the last 2 months before the GRE. Highly recommend this prep program!
Thumbnails

Oct 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
I was moved by the way even the recorded videos interacted with me. Chriss lectures were fun to watch and made way to make the most prosaic of the prep part to be easy going for me. The quality of Magoosh practice questions, especially the quant part matched with my real GRE to a great extent. All in all, I want to thank Magoosh for their excellent prep material and of course the online support you they gave me be it regarding prep or general stress management.