Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more feedback about Magoosh here (on the Urch GRE forum) and here (on our GRE Blog).


Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me understand how to prepare for the GRE. It made me realise the key element of learning from ones mistakes. The one month study plan was extremely crucial to my prep, and as a first timer it proved invaluable.
Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me to familiarize myself with the format of the test and gave me tools to prepare myself. The study plan was helpful and also gave insight as to outside material I could use to better prepare myself.
Thumbnails

Feb 13, 2017

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I was responded to promptly whenever I had any doubts. I do admit one or two of the clarifications may have been beyond my understanding, but I should not blame Magoosh for it, for I have gained far more from their efforts that I should have had if I were preparing by myself.
Thumbnails

Feb 7, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Gave me a structure to study. The instructional videos were extremely helpful and the projected score during practice was great. I loved the connection between practice question and the little "relevant lessons" at the bottom.
Thumbnails

Jan 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? None
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? None
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a lot, riding all the math and verbal important concepts timely, boosted my score rapidly, well, before one month from the exam , I gave magoosh practice test, well, I didn't score that much which I expected but the questions they sets, was really similar ,that pop ups on the exam day, there Gmail service was remarkably good,they cleared my each and every doubt.Thanks to magoosh team.
Thumbnails

Jan 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
Immensely. It actually helped me improve my verbal score a lot. In my mock tests I'd got 308. If I've got 320 now, thanks to magoosh
Thumbnails

Jan 18, 2017

Score Improvement: +46 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 139
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 137
How did Magoosh help you?
A month ago I nearly considered myself as an incorrigible noob to give GRE. Magoosh has really been helpful since. During this span of one month, winter break, I went through all the video lectures while taxing most of the practice questions which really helped me build an ability to explicitly think in a way for a particular question. The Vocabulary lessons by Chris and Quantitative lessons by Mike were tantamount to the best resources that I could get to observe a drastic change in my score.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 17, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334.5
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? no
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? no
How did Magoosh help you?
My struggle was more timing than reasoning -- the fact that I can tweak my account to mimic the test EXACTLY how I needed to, was perfect. At some point, I was only working on the "very hard" questions to crack my best score, and being able to limit myself to those questions saved a lot of time -- ESPECIALLY when you compare to sitting in a paid in-person class and having to sit through other people's questions on "medium" or "hard" questions I'd already mastered. Magoosh's explanations and email respondents were extremely helpful in making me realize what GRE reasoning could help me narrow down my answers. Also, the emails are always written with encouragement as the main focus, so they always start with little boosts of energy and compliments to keep my spirits up. Lastly, Magoosh has a guide on managing stress, and the prominence of this guide within the study plans, the importance placed on this, was really helpful in getting me into the mindset and not letting myself get into cycles of feeling stressed and incapable and losing my drive.
Thumbnails

Jan 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems and explanations were the most helpful part!
Thumbnails

Jan 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 338
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was extremely helpful in preparing me for both sections of the GRE. First, I did all of the math practice problems and studied the videos, and that was pretty much sufficient to get a high score. The practice problems were quite a bit more challenging than the actual test, but that's OK with me, as it made the actual test feel easier! For verbal, I basically just studied the vocabulary - I don't think the practice questions helped me too much, but I did do a couple of hundred questions just to get a better feel for things. The vocabulary was highly relevant to the exam and I saw many of the same words that I studied on the actual test.

I would definitely recommend Magoosh to any of my friends who wanted to study for the GRE.
Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a very short time to prep (three weeks) and Magoosh helped me refresh on the test format. I also was rusty on math formulas and processes and felt much more comfortable going into the test after just spending even about 10 hours doing math problems and reviewing questions I missed.
Thumbnails

Jan 5, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was crucial in helping me prepare for the quantitative portion of the GRE. The quiz mode helped me get my timing better, and the video explanations below the questions were super helpful. The Magoosh math questions were definitely harder than what I encountered on the test, but this over-preparation was a good thing.
Thumbnails

Dec 28, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326 + 5.5 AWA
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations for all of the practice questions were extremely helpful! Studying for the GRE can be an arduous process, but with the videos and the enthusiasm of both Chris and Mike, studying for the GRE was a lot more bearable than I initially anticipated. I also found the vocabulary flashcards to be an incredibly useful resource. During my undergraduate years, I was mainly enrolled in molecular biology courses, so I did not have much exposure to the advanced vocabulary words used in the GRE. Studying the flashcards on a daily basis not only helped my verbal score, but also helped to bolster my AWA score, as I was able to incorporate more advanced words into my writing.
Thumbnails

Dec 27, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me go from the constant 160s I used to get during my initial diagnostic and mock tests to 170 in Quants. The videos are phenomenal, and so are the explanations for the questions. My verbal score would never have crossed 155 were it not for the amazing strategies the videos provide.
I especially found the filters you can use to check your wrong answers extremely helpful. The e-mail support is amazing with the replies being as quick and friendly as they are.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 27, 2016

Score Improvement: +25 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 150
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's video lessons and question explanations were of paramount importance to my preparation. Whenever I didn't understand a question type, I would watch the lessons until the concepts were clear. I did all of the math practice problems and watched the video explanations on all the questions I missed, then redid most of the questions I had missed toward the end of my studying.
Thumbnails

Dec 23, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
I had 3 days to study for this, magoosh had a massive question bank to practice with. The maths was a little bit harder than the real thing, which made the real thing seem considerably easier. Doing practice tests, with the timer, everyday for 3/4 days I saw my scores go up at least 2/3 points per day.
Thumbnails

Dec 22, 2016

Score Improvement: +23 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh simulations are very similar to the real test condition, they also include the experimental section that really help you to get the right mindset so that you know what to expect on the test day. Furthermore, the math questions are harder than the real test questions and I found this very helpful because on the real exam it was like solving medium level questions of magoosh. That gave me the positive attitude to do good at the exam.
Thumbnails

Dec 21, 2016

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 151
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in various ways. The accessibility, the user-oriented interface, friendly support team, excellent teachers and what is more important, it transformed my dull preparation to an exciting experience.
Thumbnails

Dec 21, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? na
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? na
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's practice problems and explanation videos were immensely helpful in my preparation. The ability to create custom practice sessions allowed me to pinpoint particular topics until I felt comfortable with them. The ability to flag problems provided me with the option to repeat questions until I understood the concepts behind them.
Thumbnails

Dec 20, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided me with all the math resources I needed to learn or re-learn what I would face test day - particularly a huge help with quant comparison questions
Thumbnails

Dec 14, 2016

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has very similar questions as compared to GRE. While giving GRE, it was like i am solving Magoosh Practice test, since the questions were very similar.

I have improved my Quant score by 7 marks and its now 168.
Thanks Magoosh

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 12, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh offers a plentiful question bank with nice features to keep track of my progress. I find the filter function to filter out answered questions very helpful. I usually use this function to come back to answer questions that I answered incorrectly and find this method helpful.

Magoosh email support is amazing. Anytime I have a question about service or a difficult questions, Magoosh support team gives extremely detailed answer. I can imagine the time and effort the team invested to help students understand the questions at the best possible level.

If you aim for near perfect score in Quant section, I highly recommend to finish all the Hard and Very Hard questions in the Quant section. They will help you to be familiar with the common mistakes you may make under the intensity of test day.

Thumbnails

Dec 9, 2016

Score Improvement: +20 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Helped in understanding the exam format, and gave good strategies to improve verbal score
Thumbnails

Dec 4, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's practice questions were very good. The best thing was that we were able to choose the difficulty level. All topics were covered in depth. Maths was very well covered. Both the instructors were very good and the material reflected the fact that how passionately were they teaching. Their hard work showed in the ultimate delivery of the material to me. I took a Princeton review's practice test before preparing and I got 306 , 145 and 161 respectively. Magoosh's material helped me go to 153 and 167 . Plus, the guys were extremely polite, helpful and considerate over the Email. I think they are not just 'selling' their product. They are ready to hold your hand and take you through the end, provided you offer it :). Thanks a lot.
Thumbnails

Dec 2, 2016

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice problems and explanations were fantastic in their range of difficulty and setup - they allowed for practice similar to a test taking scenario. It's oftentimes difficult to read and understand solutions to problems, but Magoosh circumvents this issue with video solutions