Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more feedback about Magoosh here (on the Urch GRE forum) and here (on our GRE Blog).


Thumbnails

Mar 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh didn't only allow me to make my concepts crystal clear but also allowed me to analyze my performance at every step. I knew where I was going wrong and which types of questions I needed to pay special attention to. Also the videos provided me with nifty tricks that bumped my overall score by 4-5 points easily.
Thumbnails

Mar 13, 2017

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
After almost 10 years removed from academia, Magoosh was integral in refreshing the math skills necessary for tackling the quantitative section of the GRE. I found the explanations and general math tips so helpful that I did not require additional study material. The Magoosh verbal practice problems also greatly increased the speed by which I could analyze difficult verbal passages which I believe resulted in my high verbal score.
Thumbnails

Mar 12, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me review (and let's be honest, learn for the first time) many of the math skills I hadn't used in years. It also helped by providing a list of important vocabulary words to learn and the Flashcards to learn them with. I took advantage of the practice problems and tests to help me get a feel for the style and timing of the test and the score predictor was quite accurate. The videos about the essay sections also helped give me an idea of what to focus on when writing so I could use my time effectively. Most of all, Magoosh helped me plan out and focus my studying and get the most out of every hour.
Thumbnails

Mar 12, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I liked all the lectures. Before I learn from Magoosh, I always answered the questions without confidence. After knowing how GRE wants me to read and answer, it was so much easier for me to manage time, and complement my weakness. Also, practice tests were really helpful! I recommend Magoosh for anyone :)
Thumbnails

Mar 8, 2017

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me improve in many aspects. I felt intimidated by the problems. This time around, with the help of Magoosh I managed to consolidate over my fear of reading comprehension.

During the last six months, not only have I learnt quiet a lot of “in-context” vocabulary but also developed a liking for perusing literary jargon in newspapers and magazines. Thus, I think preparing for GRE through Magoosh ( though I used practice tests from other resources ) is going to have a long-term impact and the texts I once felt were recondite would not appear to be insurmountable.

Not to mention, my overall score improved 16 points, from 314 to 330, which I consider a mere side-effect if I see how far have I come in last 6 months. I hope they offer life-time memberships, would always enjoy reading and answering new problems.
Thumbnails

Mar 2, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Test strategies were AWESOME, videos and practice questions were a great way to touch up on topics I was unfamiliar with or hadn't seen in a while. Also, all the data that Magoosh provides on your practice question performance is AMAZING
Thumbnails

Feb 27, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to quickly cover topics for the verbal section, guiding me on how to tackle problems. All the strategies for verbal problems really helped me and kept me interested. The video lectures are superb and they comprehensively cover every topic giving examples while discussing a topic.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Feb 26, 2017

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 155
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
I spent three hours a day practicing all the questions. I also followed the Magoosh 1-month study plan.
Thumbnails

Feb 26, 2017

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me a TON of practice! Thank you SO much!
Thumbnails

Feb 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh verbal is phenomenal, it helped me improve a lot, Chris makes intricacies of RC, SC so fun to learn for any non-native speaker! I would definitely recommend Magoosh to any of my friends :)
Thumbnails

Feb 21, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
The comprehensive strategies available in video lessons to solve each and every question and the video explanation for every question helped me the most to get better in my performance.
Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me understand how to prepare for the GRE. It made me realise the key element of learning from ones mistakes. The one month study plan was extremely crucial to my prep, and as a first timer it proved invaluable.
Thumbnails

Feb 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me to familiarize myself with the format of the test and gave me tools to prepare myself. The study plan was helpful and also gave insight as to outside material I could use to better prepare myself.
Thumbnails

Feb 13, 2017

Score Improvement: +10 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I was responded to promptly whenever I had any doubts. I do admit one or two of the clarifications may have been beyond my understanding, but I should not blame Magoosh for it, for I have gained far more from their efforts that I should have had if I were preparing by myself.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Feb 7, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Gave me a structure to study. The instructional videos were extremely helpful and the projected score during practice was great. I loved the connection between practice question and the little "relevant lessons" at the bottom.
Thumbnails

Jan 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? None
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? None
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a lot, riding all the math and verbal important concepts timely, boosted my score rapidly, well, before one month from the exam , I gave magoosh practice test, well, I didn't score that much which I expected but the questions they sets, was really similar ,that pop ups on the exam day, there Gmail service was remarkably good,they cleared my each and every doubt.Thanks to magoosh team.
Thumbnails

Jan 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
Immensely. It actually helped me improve my verbal score a lot. In my mock tests I'd got 308. If I've got 320 now, thanks to magoosh
Thumbnails

Jan 18, 2017

Score Improvement: +46 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 152
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 139
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 137
How did Magoosh help you?
A month ago I nearly considered myself as an incorrigible noob to give GRE. Magoosh has really been helpful since. During this span of one month, winter break, I went through all the video lectures while taxing most of the practice questions which really helped me build an ability to explicitly think in a way for a particular question. The Vocabulary lessons by Chris and Quantitative lessons by Mike were tantamount to the best resources that I could get to observe a drastic change in my score.
Thumbnails

Jan 17, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 334.5
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? no
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? no
How did Magoosh help you?
My struggle was more timing than reasoning -- the fact that I can tweak my account to mimic the test EXACTLY how I needed to, was perfect. At some point, I was only working on the "very hard" questions to crack my best score, and being able to limit myself to those questions saved a lot of time -- ESPECIALLY when you compare to sitting in a paid in-person class and having to sit through other people's questions on "medium" or "hard" questions I'd already mastered. Magoosh's explanations and email respondents were extremely helpful in making me realize what GRE reasoning could help me narrow down my answers. Also, the emails are always written with encouragement as the main focus, so they always start with little boosts of energy and compliments to keep my spirits up. Lastly, Magoosh has a guide on managing stress, and the prominence of this guide within the study plans, the importance placed on this, was really helpful in getting me into the mindset and not letting myself get into cycles of feeling stressed and incapable and losing my drive.
Thumbnails

Jan 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Practice problems and explanations were the most helpful part!
Thumbnails

Jan 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 338
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was extremely helpful in preparing me for both sections of the GRE. First, I did all of the math practice problems and studied the videos, and that was pretty much sufficient to get a high score. The practice problems were quite a bit more challenging than the actual test, but that's OK with me, as it made the actual test feel easier! For verbal, I basically just studied the vocabulary - I don't think the practice questions helped me too much, but I did do a couple of hundred questions just to get a better feel for things. The vocabulary was highly relevant to the exam and I saw many of the same words that I studied on the actual test.

I would definitely recommend Magoosh to any of my friends who wanted to study for the GRE.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a very short time to prep (three weeks) and Magoosh helped me refresh on the test format. I also was rusty on math formulas and processes and felt much more comfortable going into the test after just spending even about 10 hours doing math problems and reviewing questions I missed.
Thumbnails

Jan 5, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 335
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was crucial in helping me prepare for the quantitative portion of the GRE. The quiz mode helped me get my timing better, and the video explanations below the questions were super helpful. The Magoosh math questions were definitely harder than what I encountered on the test, but this over-preparation was a good thing.
Thumbnails

Dec 28, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326 + 5.5 AWA
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
The video explanations for all of the practice questions were extremely helpful! Studying for the GRE can be an arduous process, but with the videos and the enthusiasm of both Chris and Mike, studying for the GRE was a lot more bearable than I initially anticipated. I also found the vocabulary flashcards to be an incredibly useful resource. During my undergraduate years, I was mainly enrolled in molecular biology courses, so I did not have much exposure to the advanced vocabulary words used in the GRE. Studying the flashcards on a daily basis not only helped my verbal score, but also helped to bolster my AWA score, as I was able to incorporate more advanced words into my writing.
Thumbnails

Dec 27, 2016

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me go from the constant 160s I used to get during my initial diagnostic and mock tests to 170 in Quants. The videos are phenomenal, and so are the explanations for the questions. My verbal score would never have crossed 155 were it not for the amazing strategies the videos provide.
I especially found the filters you can use to check your wrong answers extremely helpful. The e-mail support is amazing with the replies being as quick and friendly as they are.