Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more feedback about Magoosh here (on the Urch GRE forum) and here (on our GRE Blog).


Thumbnails

Jun 24, 2017

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 149
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was instrumental in improving my Verbal Score. Beginning with the Vocabulary, Reading Comprehensions, Text Completions etc. The practice Questions were very helpful and were right at the level expected at the GRE.

This gave me the self confidence to tackle these questions as Verbal was a weak point in my original GRE Preparation. The frequent practice tests were also instrumental in judging my own performance. This had simulated an environment similar to the actual GRE.

Thanks Magoosh Team!!!
Thumbnails

Jun 24, 2017

Score Improvement: +20 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 150
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos taught me so much about methods and how to think about the problems in a different way. My favorite part was that I was able to e-mail them questions and get responses within a few hours when I didn't understand a part of a video, or why I got a practice question wrong.
Thumbnails

Jun 21, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I could not have done this without Magoosh! I took a couple of diagnostic tests back in December and scored in the 305-310 range. Magoosh's Vocab Building App, the flash cards app, and of course the lessons really helped me take it to the next level. I had not done any mathematics since high school over three years ago but the Math lessons were very clear and I was able to pick up 95% of the material from the first watch.

The Flash cards are JUST RIGHT! Every word in the vocabulary builder app was actually one I encountered in some question or test. This isn't the case with the flash cards and lists of some other providers which tend to have a lot of words that aren't actually common GRE words.

The AWA writing lessons are EXCEPTIONAL. Despite the majority of my coursework in college being centered around writing, the tactics and recommendations for approaching the questions and the test format were actually exceptionally helpful.

The Practice features and the ability to form practice tests and quiz sections with just the material I had studied that day was extremely useful. Being able to only focus on questions I had already answered incorrectly in the past also allowed me to focus on the parts of the test where I had the most room for improvement.

There was only time when I didn't quite get a question's explanation. I reached out to Magoosh over a weekend and even then, I got a clear response that was easy to understand in just a few hours.

Your product really is exceptional and affordable and I couldn't have jumped these 15-20 points up without it. Thank you so much!
Thumbnails

Jun 20, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 341.5
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
I took a practice test before starting studying and found that my quantitative skills really needed work. The practice problems especially helped me know what to expect and the video explanations for missed problems taught me how to tackle them on test day. Additionally, the AWA videos gave solid examples and strategies for the two essays. Overall, Magoosh is a solid product and I would recommend it strongly.
Thumbnails

Jun 17, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh learning lessons and tips helped me throughout the preparation phase. I mostly relied on Magoosh alone for the exam strategies and preparation. Initially I followed magoosh 90 day study plan, watched Vocabulary videos by Chris (from youtube) and completed all the video lessons and exam tips. These videos were my fillers during office breaks or during travel. Quality of Magoosh practice questions are exceptional and are above par with GRE questions in terms of difficulty. Once I practiced with Magoosh questions, I felt the actual GRE more easier and familiar.
Thumbnails

Jun 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
For me, the most valuable thing was the repetition and getting familiar with the question types. Knowing how the test will try to trick you, especially on the quant section, made me much more comfortable come test day.
Thumbnails

Jun 6, 2017

Score Improvement: +22 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 148
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
I was able to get a good handle on what I needed to learn early (then to be honest I supplemented with Kaplan books for the busy work/ general studying) and then I took a ton of practice tests before the test to build stamina. The video explanations were awesome in helping to understand tricky concepts

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jun 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Because of Magoosh, I wasn't surprised by any of the questions on the GRE. Even when the trickiest question popped up, I remembered the advice of Mike and Chris and started working my way toward the answer.
Thumbnails

May 28, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped a lot by covering all the types of question one can face in the test. The key to get a good GRE score is to know the shortcuts to all the kinds of questions. Magoosh does a pretty good job of preparing the students for just that.
Thumbnails

May 15, 2017

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's lessons are of inestimable value, I was given excellent tips and tricks to brush up on math that I hadn't done in years. The questions in the quant section are really challenging and will help you overcome any predicament on the GRE test day.
Thumbnails

May 12, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 337
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 169
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
Other than the official website and sample materials, Magoosh was pretty much the only resource I used to prepare for the GRE. The detailed lessons and the countless problem sets were invaluable in getting me prepared and confident for the test.

Magoosh also was very understanding and extended my subscription so that it could cover me till my exam date.

I am very grateful to Magoosh for guiding me through the whole prep process!
Thumbnails

May 8, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
The main reason I opted for an online preparation plan was the fact that I could get my answers reviewed immediately- with video and text explanations; unlike the books where you don't get a feel of the actual test. Magoosh was especially helpful in helping me improving my speed, and the difficulty of all the questions was almost on par with that of the actual GRE!
Thumbnails

May 6, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
Math lessons, practice problems, and practice tests. Having video lessons for each problem and links to relevant lessons was extremely useful in prioritizing what to study as I didn't have enough time to go through everything.
Thumbnails

May 3, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
It was the best help I can ever get. In preparing for verbal I realized, it's not just about the vocabulary you build, but more about the logical analysis of sentences. The material provided by Magoosh was extensive and covered all possible types/difficulties of questions that came in the actual GRE. Speaking of quant section, I had a pretty good background actually, but even then Magoosh's hard, very hard questions came handy when the difficulty went up in my 2nd quant section.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Apr 28, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh are purveyors of GRE-specific tips, tricks and strategies. The Magoosh course is a feast with a fantastic spread of blogs, instruction videos, practice questions and apps. In one sentence- Magoosh is heaven for any driven GRE test-taker. There is no shortage of knowledge or help here!

When I first started prep, I was particularly weak in math. With the aid of the blogs and easy-to-follow math videos, I was able to dust-off old high school concepts and revitalise my otherwise lethargic left brain.The Magoosh vocabulary resources were excellent and definitely helped me improve my Verbal score (the vocabulary app and the vocab e-book in particular).

Overall, Magoosh is a great option for GRE prep and in my opinion, wins over other tutorials. It is obvious that the minds behind Magoosh are detail-oriented and extremely thorough in their work!

Thank you Magoosh, thank you!
Thumbnails

Apr 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has tremendously improved my vocabulary to cope with highly academic words tested in the GRE. Magoosh practice questions are diverse, academic, well-explained and effectively match with those included in the actual test.
Thumbnails

Apr 17, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me immensely with verbal practice. I used Magoosh's large question bank which contains high quality questions to learn the question patterns and practice thoroughly.
Thumbnails

Apr 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a life-saver! I loved the accessible and interactive videos, practice problems, and overall support. Before I started using Magoosh, studying for the GRE seemed like an impossible and intimidating task. Magoosh taught me exactly what I needed to know and helped me build the necessary skills to do well on test day. I am so grateful to Chris, Mike, and everyone at Magoosh! Thank you!
Thumbnails

Apr 10, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a lot with Quant. The videos to the various lessons were amazing and the number of hard and very hard questions in their question bank helped me to tackle the actual gre questions.
The verbal videos are also superb, Chis Lele is an excellent teacher and his videos helped me a lot with RC's and SC.
Thumbnails

Mar 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh didn't only allow me to make my concepts crystal clear but also allowed me to analyze my performance at every step. I knew where I was going wrong and which types of questions I needed to pay special attention to. Also the videos provided me with nifty tricks that bumped my overall score by 4-5 points easily.
Thumbnails

Mar 13, 2017

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
After almost 10 years removed from academia, Magoosh was integral in refreshing the math skills necessary for tackling the quantitative section of the GRE. I found the explanations and general math tips so helpful that I did not require additional study material. The Magoosh verbal practice problems also greatly increased the speed by which I could analyze difficult verbal passages which I believe resulted in my high verbal score.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Mar 12, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me review (and let's be honest, learn for the first time) many of the math skills I hadn't used in years. It also helped by providing a list of important vocabulary words to learn and the Flashcards to learn them with. I took advantage of the practice problems and tests to help me get a feel for the style and timing of the test and the score predictor was quite accurate. The videos about the essay sections also helped give me an idea of what to focus on when writing so I could use my time effectively. Most of all, Magoosh helped me plan out and focus my studying and get the most out of every hour.
Thumbnails

Mar 12, 2017

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 332
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I liked all the lectures. Before I learn from Magoosh, I always answered the questions without confidence. After knowing how GRE wants me to read and answer, it was so much easier for me to manage time, and complement my weakness. Also, practice tests were really helpful! I recommend Magoosh for anyone :)
Thumbnails

Mar 8, 2017

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me improve in many aspects. I felt intimidated by the problems. This time around, with the help of Magoosh I managed to consolidate over my fear of reading comprehension.

During the last six months, not only have I learnt quiet a lot of “in-context” vocabulary but also developed a liking for perusing literary jargon in newspapers and magazines. Thus, I think preparing for GRE through Magoosh ( though I used practice tests from other resources ) is going to have a long-term impact and the texts I once felt were recondite would not appear to be insurmountable.

Not to mention, my overall score improved 16 points, from 314 to 330, which I consider a mere side-effect if I see how far have I come in last 6 months. I hope they offer life-time memberships, would always enjoy reading and answering new problems.
Thumbnails

Mar 2, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 166
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Test strategies were AWESOME, videos and practice questions were a great way to touch up on topics I was unfamiliar with or hadn't seen in a while. Also, all the data that Magoosh provides on your practice question performance is AMAZING