Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Thumbnails

Sep 22, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
It provided many challenging practice questions. I also loved the custom practice feature which allowed me to practice the quantitative section under the actual time constraints.
Thumbnails

Sep 18, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
In my practice exams when I first started studying, I was scoring in the 140s on each section and knew I had a long way to go. I studied hard for two months, watching all the videos I could and taking plenty of practice exams and test questions, and I can't believe how much I improved. I am thrilled with my scores and so happy I don't need to retake it for a better score! The video lessons really prepared me for even the toughest questions. The quantitative reasoning lessons in particular were critical to my success. I'm applying to schools confidently now that I have a good score under my belt! Being able to study anywhere was really handy - I could watch videos on the treadmill or study flashcards during my lunch.
Thumbnails

Sep 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
I realized that there are a lot more words that I didn't know. Moreover, an Android app helped me to master some of them.
Thumbnails

Sep 10, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's detailed video lessons and explanations helped me the most in understanding my weak areas and correcting them. Also, the email assistance offered was really comprehensive and I never had any doubt left unanswered.
Thumbnails

Sep 8, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 337
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was extremely user friendly. The interface made it easy to navigate the different study topics, and the videos were concise and easily digestible. I really enjoyed the explanations of all the answers, walking you through the thought process required to arrive at the right answer. There are tons of helpful GRE test taking tips riddled throughout the videos too, they are extremely helpful.
Thumbnails

Sep 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh provided me with a rich set of Math and Verbal questions that helped me achieve a score I did not expect! During all my tests, I had an average score of 314 but on the test day, I scored a 320! I would solely ascribe this to time management and patience. By taking around 10 different practice tests, I was able to maintain my aplomb throughout the test. Magoosh's predictions of my score was really close to my actual GRE score and their slightly tough questions made the actual ETS GRE questions seem easier.
Thumbnails

Sep 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 157
How did Magoosh help you?
A lot! Especially at the beginning when I needed to get going with my GRE prep: learning all the maths concepts, learning about the content of the exam... It is much more lively and less painful to do this with videos from the Magoosh website rather than with numerous and heavy books from ETS or unofficial competitors! I would definitely recommend Magoosh around me and I'm also considering using the Magoosh prep for the TOEFL which I also need to take.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Sep 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 158
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Question-by-question feedback on the time taken to solve the question, in addition to the answer, gives much more visibility into problem areas that one should work on.
Thumbnails

Sep 5, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 336
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
The variety of questions in Magoosh's question bank, combined with video and text explanations which provided a logical line of reasoning, were very helpful. My favorite feature was that I could filter questions and only view my incorrect/flagged answers, which I would incorporate into a custom practice session. The lesson videos in math helped me recall several basic concepts, and in verbal, taught me how to rationally approach questions I was struggling with. The GRE Flashcards app proved invaluable, as almost all of the words I encountered in the actual GRE were covered there. Most of all, the warm customer service was very encouraging.
Thumbnails

Sep 5, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has a lot of different types of questions and they are actually more challenging than the real test.
Thumbnails

Sep 5, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 0
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 0
How did Magoosh help you?
help promote my answering speed
Thumbnails

Sep 5, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 337
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 170
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
The detailed explanations that accompany every one of the nearly 1,200 questions were an amazing resource. I improved my combined score by 13 points, not only due to dedicated practice of the Magoosh questions, but also by reviewing the explainations. I never left a question feeling like I didn't understand the topic. This was a big investment of time and energy to watch ever video and do every question but one that greatly paid off in the end. Thank you Magoosh for giving me the resources and guidance to succeed.
Thumbnails

Sep 4, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh math lessons were instrumental in bolstering my quant skills. Mike McGarry, the math lesssons instructor, presents each subject concisely and clearly with plenty of great tips to sharpen number sense. From assessment test to test day, I improved my quant score by 12 points. Thanks, Mike!

In addition, Magoosh's massive question bank with adaptive difficulty offers a verisimilitude unlike any study material I have encountered. No doubt adaptive difficulty is the best way to study. It was worth every penny!
Thumbnails

Sep 2, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 169
What was your verbal score? 157
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? NA
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me getting hold of the varying contexts involved when solving questions related to filling in blanks and reading comprehension a lot. By practicing questions under time constraint using custom practice tests helped me improve my vocabulary. Also, suggestion related to analytical writing also helped me a lot.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Sep 2, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
The quantity and variety of practice questions was very helpful. It took a few hundred quant questions before the question types seemed to "click", so I was grateful to have so many to practice with. The computer interface was close to the real thing, and the timing information helped me see if I was on pace. Also, the study schedules helped me see what books were worth using to supplement Magoosh. Overall, I'm really glad I choose to use Magoosh as my main study tool!
Thumbnails

Sep 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Learning the format and many if the general math principles. Specifically rates and work as well as probability and combinations.
Thumbnails

Sep 1, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Like a ton, like way more than I'm prepared her but I'm so writing a Google review or something!
Thumbnails

Aug 30, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
With my Indian background, I was always inclined towards math. Magoosh helped me this with around 650 math problems and that was all I ever wanted to for a long time! I actually only picked up on English and it was too late. But it helped me in a way which I found really amazing. Everything was organised and with each problem, you had related lessons. I'm actually kind of going to miss Mike's and Chris's voices!
Thumbnails

Aug 25, 2017

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 163
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 150
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
I needed to get in the 70th percentile in Math for certain programs I am interested in. After using another test prep interface to prepare for the first time I took the GRE, I found myself scoring in only the 38th percentile. I scheduled a retake for about a month in the future and immediately started using Magoosh. After using the math videos, I felt that I understood the basic concept quickly (and possibly better than I did when I learned them 10 years ago). I was able to improve my math score by 8 points and get the 70th percentile score that I needed. Magoosh is a good option because they let you ask questions when you are confused and get an answer quickly via email.
Thumbnails

Aug 25, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Honestly, I don't know what I would have done without Magoosh. I had absolutely no idea about the GRE and I found out that I needed to take it right away. I used the one month study schedule, which really helped focus my studying and improve my progress. I watched all the lesson videos, did all the vocab flashcards and almost all the practice questions. The video explanations after questions are the best thing; the experts went step by step through the problems and really helped to break down difficult questions.
Thumbnails

Aug 25, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 333
What was your math score? 164
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh taught me many new math concepts and techniques, especially in integer properties, counting and word problems. I never knew there was actually a strategy for solving those problems about cars moving towards each other. I wish I had been taught all this in 5th grade.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Aug 24, 2017

Score Improvement: +14 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 164
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 148
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me prepare at a higher difficulty level. I would like to thank bhavin and his team. Different and unique question set. Would definitely recommend it to every student who is planning to pursue GRE. Great job guys !
Thumbnails

Aug 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was exactly what I needed to prep for the GRE! After having been out of college for two years, I needed some serious refreshers - especially on math - and the videos and practice questions that included explanations were perfect. I only had five weeks to prep, so I liked that I could go at whatever pace I needed to using Magoosh. I know I would have not done nearly as well without it!
Thumbnails

Aug 15, 2017

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 166
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in a lot of different aspects. First, I came into the test the second time around with a clear strategy of when to skip problems and when to go at them, understanding the format very well. Additionally, particularly on the verbal section, the strategies I learned from Magoosh frequently enabled me to solve problems that included words I had never seen. I felt like I was ready to tackle any type of question the test could throw at me after Magoosh and that confidence presumably helped my score.
Thumbnails

Aug 15, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
Being an engineer, maths has been my forte. I needed guidance on the verbal section. Magoosh's videos on the verbal section were of great help. I found the practice questions to be of high quality. You don't really another study resource for the GRE if you subscribe to Magoosh. To the Magoosh team, sweet job at the product. Keep it up! Cheers. :)