Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Sep 22, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 750
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 330
How did Magoosh help you?
I improved my score by 21 for new GRE, which is 220 for old.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 20, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 314
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons were extremely helpful. I religiously followed the 90 days plan and tried to learn 20-25 words everyday. I made an attempt to use those words actively with friends or on social networking sites. Sometimes, it sounded funny but it the end it helped me.

Thanks again for all the help, though I am contemplating on retaking the test again to improve my verbal score.

Your advice would be appreciated
Double checks 120x120

Sep 20, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
It gave me an insight into how quickly i was answering each question, by comparing it with the others average pace.
The review questions utility with numerous filters was really helpful. It helped me to go back and check my performance in questions that i was incorrect in, by mixing and matching different filters.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 19, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 337
What was your math score? 167
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me identify areas of math where I was weak and allowed me to study those specific areas. Magoosh also gave me much needed practice with the type of vocabulary and questions used in the critical reading section.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 19, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 306
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Timed practice questions helped, as well as video tutorials
Double checks 120x120

Sep 19, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 163
How did Magoosh help you?
I really enjoyed having video explanations for each question possible. The math videos were very clear on how to approach problems. The instructional videos are daunting at first glance because of the sheer number of them but they did help boost my confidence and provided a clear review of what was covered by the GRE.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 16, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323
What was your math score? 161
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped reinforce math skills and techniques that I had not practiced in 10 years. It also gave me very challenging questions to practice on.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 15, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? i don't know my writing score yet...
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh videos and practice questions were extremely helpful! Magoosh helped me gauge which topics I needed to review, and which ones I needed to improve my speed.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 15, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 316
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
I was unsure how to go about preparing for the GRE. When I had almost lost of hope of scoring well on the GRE, a friend of mine referred Magoosh. I was hesitant at first to sign up for the premium service but after reading positive user reviews it didn't take me even a minute to register. Magoosh's user interface, quality of questions, practise tests and online help is unmatched. Magoosh is the real deal, the questions were 99% similar to what I got on the actual revised GRE. I would recommend Magoosh to everyone who is confused about how to go about preparing for the GRE.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 14, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
I really liked using the math videos to relearn math concepts that I hadn't seen since high school. I originally tried using books to relearn these concepts but I just couldn't get myself to read paragraphs about math. I could, however, get myself to watch short videos where someone explained each problem to me step-by-step just like how my high school math teacher used to do it. I also really liked reading the blog postings, especially Vocab Wednesdays!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 13, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
I was given excellent tools to brush up on math that I hadn't done in years, and was able to sharpen my reading comprehension skills even further than I already had as an English major.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 13, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I've been out of school many years now and needed to start basically from scratch when it came to math. I almost hate math and the videos lessenes my resistance to learning. I also love that Magoosh pointed me to other useful resources (ex. Manhattan GRE rather than Kaplan, which in turn led me to aldaily.com for interesting reads that will go with me beyond GRE studies). The practice questions gave me a pretty accurate estimate of my scores- I scored right in the middle of the predicted range. Your program gave me a no-nonsense preparation for the GRE.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 11, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh proved to be extraordinarily helpful in my preparation for the GRE. Prior to registering, I had purchased a Princeton Review prep book and gone through it in its entirety. After finishing it, I felt like I could still use some further preparation, and I am so thankful I found your service. If I had gone in with only the book, I would, without a doubt, have scored significantly lower than I did. Magoosh provided a forum in which I could see how much I actually knew about material on the test. The practice test functionality proved very helpful and gave me a good idea of what to expect on test day.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 11, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
Math videos were particularly useful - crystallized a lot of concepts. The Integer section was particularly useful - taught me how to deal with those summing / LCM / GCD questions that had been plaguing me. I felt more confident after doing practice work and knew what my strengths and weaknesses were. Word problem examples were dead on.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 11, 2012

Score Improvement: +8 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 156
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 161
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
The question bank offered provides a good variety of questions of varying difficulty levels. The feature of customizing the test according to your requirements is extremely helpful which allows you to concentrate on the weak areas and fine-tune your practice accordingly. The UI is clean and friendly. The explanations for all the chapters as well as questions are succinct and clear. I got an 8 point increase(313 to 321) in the revised GRE after using Magoosh 30-day premium plan.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 327
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
The math section on magoosh was all I used to prepare for about a month, since I did not really care about the verbal sections.
The practice questions were perfect to prepare for the test, they were substantially more difficult so that the actual test felt not that tough at all. Also, Magoosh covers all the concepts and subjects required for a high GRE score. If you do and understand all the oractice questions, little can go wrong.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 325
What was your math score? 155
What was your verbal score? 170
How did Magoosh help you?
Going into the GRE, I was very rusty on the math--I graduated college over 15 years ago and took the GMAT 12 years ago, but since then I haven't done much math. I did all of the Magoosh lessons and all of the math practice questions (some of them over and over until I could get them right). It was an enormous help. The AWA content and the blog were helpful too. I didn't really use the verbal much because I was less concerned about my verbal score.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? first time
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? first time
How did Magoosh help you?
helped me review math and writing in 2 weeks.
Practice problems were helpful. My score was within Magoosh's score range for both sections. Not score I wanted so I might take again.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 319
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations for Verbal section is really great.It helped me a lot.Overall experience with Magoosh gre is satisfactory and value for money.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Good visuals.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 315
What was your math score? 153
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 147
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons & explanations were extremely helpful. I'm a better visual & tactile learner, so going through the motions with instructors step-by-step really helped me to learn the concepts I otherwise might have missed by going through a book on my own.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
By practicing on an actual computer.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
I would have probably been lost without Magoosh. I liked having the visual mixed with auditory learning. It was like someone was teaching me a concept with mostly easy to understand explanations, but I could pause them and go back as necessary. I couldn't afford a big Kaplan study program, but Magoosh gave me the affordability, flexibility, and knowledge that I needed.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 8, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 314
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me prepare for the GRE immensely. I live in a very rural without access to bookstores or GRE prep classes so having access to so many practice questions anywhere I go was very helpful.