Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Jan 4, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 326
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
The product helped me to understand the format and nature of the questions, The lessons were an excellent refresher. I also liked the focus on how to answer GRE questions.
Double checks 120x120

Jan 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 307
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were very helpful, and the pactice tests helped me with getting my timing right
Double checks 120x120

Dec 28, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 149
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me understand and predict the style of problems that I would find on the GRE. The verbal portion of the review really helped me analyze the sentences and readings.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 297
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me to stay motivated to study because of it's interactive nature. I found the verbal reasoning videos especially helpful; they also gave me more confidence when goin into the test.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 300
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 146
How did Magoosh help you?
The product was helpful to a great extent.It was user friendly and attractive.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 21, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 425
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
I felt that the verbal section would be my weak point, so I did a lot of verbal work on Magoosh along with a few other online GRE practice websites and an iPhone flash card app. Out of all of the practice materials for the test, Magoosh verbal was the closest to the actual test and prepared me for the tricky questions. Also, I would highly recommend the flash card iPhone/web app that I used, which is offered by brain-scape.com. The words were relevant to the exam and I was able to learn approximately 1,200 words in about two months without pushing myself too hard.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 16, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 331
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was a tremendous help. The first time I took the new GRE I had not used Magoosh to prepare. The resources I did use (McGraw Hill and Princeton Review books) led me to believe that the quant problems would be much easier than they actually were on test day, and as a result I was not adequately prepared. I used Magoosh to prepare for my 2nd attempt at the new GRE, and I found the problems to be a better representation of the actual quant section (I did not use the verbal section of the site). Also of significance, Magoosh's mock test option allowed me to determine where I needed to be at what time, something I didn't know the first time I had taken the test. Knowing how to properly budget my time was probably the single most important factor in improving my score, and Magoosh's mock test option is the best way to learn how to budget. My score on quant went from 152 to 165.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Dec 8, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 311
What was your math score? 155
What was your verbal score? 156
How did Magoosh help you?
Plenty of practice problems and video explanations.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 8, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 303
What was your math score? 147
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
It made everything so easy to understand. It was a pleasure to study
Double checks 120x120

Dec 6, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 304
What was your math score? 151
What was your verbal score? 153
How did Magoosh help you?
It reviewed EVERYTHING really clearily. I really appreciated how the narrator would show why to use a certain formula. It just simplified everything.
Double checks 120x120

Dec 2, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 167
How did Magoosh help you?
Mostly verbal - the level of complexity of the actual exam did correspond with the practice examples. Math was useful too, however the quant section of the actual exam was not so complicated, and many of the actual math problems were different.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 23, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 288
What was your math score? 149
What was your verbal score? 139
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were great! As I was taking the test, I was surprised to see how closely related they were.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 18, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 323 (new scoring system)
What was your math score? 159
What was your verbal score? 164
How did Magoosh help you?
Lessons, practice questions, and blog really helped me improve my score. They helped me improve my basic skills and speed. I also used a lot of the strategies I found in the lessons and on the Magoosh blog for each of the sections and overall test. Magoosh is the best GRE prep product/material I have used in every sense. I also like how the staff is down-to-earth and quick to reply.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 17, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 294
What was your math score? 144
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
Lots of practice and lots of individual lessons

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 15, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? Not received yet
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
The questions were similar in nature to those in GRE. Helped me to know what to expect
Double checks 120x120

Nov 13, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 322
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 162
How did Magoosh help you?
I did not get to use the product as extensively as I would have liked; however, I found the service quite good. The review for the math was of particular help - rules and properties long-forgotten were brought back to life in an efficient manner. I am inclined to say that I felt the actual test to be somewhat less difficult than the practice questions, but I suppose that also is good, as it prepares you for the worst.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? don't know
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
The product was very helpful in that it let me target my weak areas by allowing me to choose the types of questions I wanted to practice.

Double checks 120x120

Nov 12, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 149
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
I was homeschooled so I was missing many of the fundamental math concepts to do well on the exam. The tutorial videos were very helpful and easy to understand. Also the verbal strategies helped me to understand what the questions were asking.
Double checks 120x120

Nov 6, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1270-1400
What was your math score? 690-790
What was your verbal score? 580-610
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped with practice on the verbal section. A few good topics on math for expediting work. There is not much material for the new GRE and Magoosh helped void the gap.
Double checks 120x120

Oct 18, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? Not certain yet
What was your math score? 590-690
What was your verbal score? 400-500
How did Magoosh help you?
? âm greatful to you! ?t really helped me a lot specifically on verbal section! Thanks a lot!
Double checks 120x120

Oct 12, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1240
What was your math score? 760
What was your verbal score? 480
How did Magoosh help you?
Lessons were awesome !!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 18, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1500-1600
What was your math score? 750-800 (no exact score until November)
What was your verbal score? 750-800 (no exact score until November)
How did Magoosh help you?
I only signed up for Magoosh 3 days before my GRE test date, and cannot emphasize enough how much this site has helped me in such a short amount of time. I had taken the old GRE last year and scored 650Q, 760V; today, I scored in the projected range of 750-800 for quantitative as well as verbal. I would be happy to update my score when it comes out in November, and I can already give this site substantial credit for raising my math score 100-150 points. I am two years out of college and it has been at least 8 or 9 years since I have learned (and then forgotten) many of the math concepts on the GRE. The adaptive-difficulty math questions were extraordinarily helpful in preparing me to feel comfortable facing even the most challenging questions on the GRE. Honestly, the test felt very manageable rather than intimidating, after having faced similar problems here. The well-explained, detailed video explanations (and quick written explanations) found immediately after each question were essential in understanding my mistakes and finally learning exactly how to fix them (with strategies I only wish I had learned back in high school)!!

The multitude of short video lessons sorted by topic were a perfect review of the essential properties/formulas tested on the quantitative section. All of the material on this site very well matched that found on the new GRE, and the new tricks/tips and explanations I gleaned here no doubt were a major cause of my quantitative score jump up 100-150 points. And all of this with fewer than three days using this product; I can only imagine what this site could do for someone with more time to prepare!!
Double checks 120x120

Aug 23, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 1330 - 1480
What was your math score? 750 - 800
What was your verbal score? 580 - 680
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's practice questions and the GRE blog helped me a lot for my preparation. In fact Magoosh was my only preparation material. Of course I studied some of the high frequency word lists. But I practiced them only on Magoosh. This combined with the fact that I won a premium subscription by participating in one of your practice question contests gives me intense pleasure. I wholeheartedly thank Magoosh for their help.
Double checks 120x120

Aug 23, 2011

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? -
What was your math score? 750-800
What was your verbal score? 570-660
How did Magoosh help you?
-very helpful for verbal practice
- loved the blog entries
- great explanations