Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the GRE.

You can find more Magoosh reviews on our Facebook page and on the Magoosh GRE blog .

Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 160
What was your verbal score? 160
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? first time
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? first time
How did Magoosh help you?
helped me review math and writing in 2 weeks.
Practice problems were helpful. My score was within Magoosh's score range for both sections. Not score I wanted so I might take again.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 10, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 319
What was your math score? 165
What was your verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
Video explanations for Verbal section is really great.It helped me a lot.Overall experience with Magoosh gre is satisfactory and value for money.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
Good visuals.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 315
What was your math score? 153
What was your verbal score? 162
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 147
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 152
How did Magoosh help you?
The video lessons & explanations were extremely helpful. I'm a better visual & tactile learner, so going through the motions with instructors step-by-step really helped me to learn the concepts I otherwise might have missed by going through a book on my own.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 330
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
By practicing on an actual computer.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 9, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 324
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 168
How did Magoosh help you?
I would have probably been lost without Magoosh. I liked having the visual mixed with auditory learning. It was like someone was teaching me a concept with mostly easy to understand explanations, but I could pause them and go back as necessary. I couldn't afford a big Kaplan study program, but Magoosh gave me the affordability, flexibility, and knowledge that I needed.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 8, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 314
What was your math score? 156
What was your verbal score? 158
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me prepare for the GRE immensely. I live in a very rural without access to bookstores or GRE prep classes so having access to so many practice questions anywhere I go was very helpful.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 7, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 308
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 154
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 154
How did Magoosh help you?
I must have been overconfident. I got the same score as before.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 6, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 339
What was your math score? 170
What was your verbal score? 169
How did Magoosh help you?
I have no doubt that Magoosh was a significant factor in my preparation. I was already confident in my math and verbal abilities, but the detailed features of your Dashboard (especially being able to see an elaborate breakdown of how much time I was spending on different question types) allowed me to pinpoint several areas that I needed to sharpen. This definitely saved me a considerable amount of study time and energy.

I also used your Help tab to ask for clarification a few times and I always received a prompt, friendly, and thorough response. It was really nice to know this was available as needed.

And perhaps the most pivotal factor: your practice questions are consistently of higher quality than the questions offered by Kaplan, Princeton Review and other test prep 'factories'. Judging from the free online practice tests offered by these companies (and from their books I borrowed from friends):

- Kaplan's questions seem crafted to work with their "method". But this is only guaranteed to help if Kaplan is also writing ETS's questions (which, of course, they are not).
- The credited answers to some of PR's reading comp questions do not follow logically from the passages (that is, unless you employ the exact form of subtly erroneous logic that you must avoid on the difficult questions on the real GRE).
- Kaplan, PR, and several of the other well-known companies emphasize vocab memorization. Actually they emphasize drowning yourself in immeasurable mountains of esoteric words. This is utterly useless and a waste of one's limited study time and mental energy. A well-rounded vocabulary is essential, but you don't need to build up a vault of arcane terminology. Even the few mysterious words on the real test were not completely unfamiliar. I had seen or heard them before and could, for the most part, get a sufficient feel for their connotations simply based on context and intuition.

I didn't find any of these problems with Magoosh's content: the recommendations for how to allocate your study time are reasonable, the solutions given for the practice questions are applicable beyond the problems designed by Magoosh and, most importantly, they value the idea that to consistently solve problems correctly requires an intuitive grasp of why the solutions work.

Finally, Magoosh is just much more affordable than their competitors. Cheaper and better is quite the combination.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 320
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 166
How did Magoosh help you?
Wow, Magoosh was the most awesome GRE prep material/program I used! When I started studying for the GRE months ago I could barely get more than a couple quantitative questions right. After using the videos and hundreds of practice questions I raised my quantitative score significantly. I only needed to score a 149 in Quant for the school of my choice but I was able to score 5 points above that cutoff number (154 raw score)! Although I was already strong in verbal I believe that the many tips offered in those videos also helped me to improve as well.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 305
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 147
How did Magoosh help you?
Immensely. It really opened my eyes, gave me a holistic experience.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 5, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
I owe a lot of my success to the awesome Magoosh product. It helped me know what to expect in the actual exam. The video explanation with each question is what sets apart Magoosh from other coaching products. The Magoosh blog was also a great supplement in my preparation.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 4, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 329
What was your math score? 168
What was your verbal score? 161
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was great with a very responsive team that provided timely feedback on each and every query. Keep it up guys!
Double checks 120x120

Sep 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 313
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
The videos were amazing. It was a lot easier to watch a step by step video explanation than to read a paragraph from a review book. The amount of practice problems helped too. Although I crammed for a last minute GRE test, I know that Magoosh helped immensely!!

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Sep 2, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 307
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 149
How did Magoosh help you?
The product gave me really a strong grip on the basics and on how the tackle different problem which I was lacking before. The product also provided a huge amount of questions which really helped me to understand how to tackle different problems. Above all the good part was each question had a video explanation which really showed how the question can be solved. This is the best product for GRE.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 2, 2012

Score Improvement: +6 points
What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 309
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 151
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 153
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
Good math practices. Valuable techniques to do the quantitative section faster.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 1, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 309
What was your math score? 154
What was your verbal score? 155
How did Magoosh help you?
The instructional videos were helpful. The practice tests were also very helpful.
Double checks 120x120

Sep 1, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 316
What was your math score? 157
What was your verbal score? 159
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? -
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? -
How did Magoosh help you?
I had less than a month to prepare for the GRE.I was extremely weak in Math having been out of touch with math for nearly 7 years.So taking the GRE seemed an uphill task.So I was loking for someone to take me step by step over all the math concepts.After some research on the net I found everyone was raving about Magoosh and I found it to be really cheap as compared to other products in the market.So I signed up for it and I now realise if it hadnt been for Magoosh I couldnt have done the GRE.I watched all the math videos.They explained all the concepts.They helped me 'think' math rather than blindly plug in the formulas.The Verbal ebook and the Magoosh blog was just excellent.After watching the videos,I solved as many problems as I could in the limited time available to me.I know that my score is pretty average but without Magoosh I would have scored <300 .So thanks a ton you guys !!
Double checks 120x120

Aug 31, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 318
What was your math score? 158
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
-great practice questions with the answered explained in writing and video
-helpful tutorials on all major topics
-adaptive setting
-practice test setting
Double checks 120x120

Aug 31, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 305
What was your math score? 145
What was your verbal score? 160
How did Magoosh help you?
Awesome product, I just unfortunately spent more.time on algebra and exponents and it seemed like the preponderance of the focus was on geometry
Double checks 120x120

Aug 31, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 312
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 150
How did Magoosh help you?
As a novice not knowing where to start,how to start your blog and product both helped me a lot.
Intillaly just following the feeds of the blog(the best blog for GRE till date) and buying prep plan is
the best thing i did to start the preparation of GRE.Practice questions and video explanation for
every question were infact difficult than the original GRE,even some quant questions on exam day were almost the
same as practice questions.People reading this review either novice or expert in math/verbal will surely
need this product,you wont regret it.
Thankyou very much magoosh without you i couldn't have made this far.

Start your GRE prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Double checks 120x120

Aug 31, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 328
What was your math score? 163
What was your verbal score? 165
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh very much helped me get a great score. Having completed high school 19 years ago, I felt quite out of it. The video lessons and tons of practice questions were very helpful. The math practice was tougher than the actual GRE, and prepared me quite well.
Thank you very much.
Double checks 120x120

Aug 29, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 304
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 142
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous math score? 710
If you took the GRE before, what was your previous verbal score? 320
How did Magoosh help you?
Mostly the tips and the lessons. The lessons clarify a lot of concepts in a brief and clearly way.
Double checks 120x120

Aug 29, 2012

What was your overall score on the actual GRE? 321
What was your math score? 162
What was your verbal score? 159
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped provide the tools and strategies needed to succeed on the GRE. The quantitative section was very helpful to review formulas. The verbal lessons on video were of a very high quality and contained vital insight.